jump to navigation

Bitches Be Crazy May 17, 2011

Posted by Kimmothy in Life.
trackback

A tri-lingual, highly regarded in the community law professor in our department regularly comes to me for technical advice. Some of his issues have included not being able to print a document (then expressing amazement when I showed him how to Ctrl P – “Does the ‘P’ stand for PRINT!?!”), not receiving emails (he accidentally changed his email option to receive them alphabetically instead of by date) and how to weigh an envelope on the postage scale. He and his wife will soon be Summering in the South of France. I’ll be Summering in my front yard, but I’m glad I’m able to be of service for him.

One of Brian’s cousins, a guy who gives new meaning to black sheep, told Brian last night on the phone his son burned down part of their trailer, his girlfriend has some life-threatening disease and they’re currently holed up in some hotel, supplementing her disability money by “flying signs” (Brian guesses that’s street slang for begging on the side of the road). He told him he’d already spent most of the $160 he’d made that day on beer and crack and in the background Brian heard the girlfriend chide him to “Stop braggin’.”

Another cousin, I may have written about her here before, spent almost a year publicly shit-talking her cheating husband who was deployed in Iraq. He returned a couple weeks ago and according to Facebook, they’re happily un-separated and anyone who has anything to say about it can kiss her ass. While I’ve actually been in that position, I’m very thankful I didn’t spend the entirety of our separation saying how much I hated Brian because that makes you look kind of like an asshole when it all goes back to “normal.”

I’ve had to speak to my mother on the phone a lot more than usual lately. See: title of this post.

Brian had a co-worker get fired today. Guy is twenty-one, the grandson of the owner of the company and a new father. Since his girlfriend had the baby a few weeks ago, he’s started coming in late to work, not calling when he did, or just not showing up at all. Today he got there on time, but after filling the truck with gas at a convenience store, came back to the truck, got in and opened a tall can of Bud Light. It was 8:30 a.m.

I know I’m neurotic and weird and have just as many quirks as the next person. The fact that any two people can manage to live together in relative peace over a long period of time still amazes me. But lately? The crazy seems to be coming in at an unnatural pace. There’s a full moon tonight and I’m about to drive an hour to pick up Becky, a girl who has been an honorary daughter to me for many years. I’m very excited to see her; I’m just hoping for a respite from weirdness.

Comments»

1. LL Cool Joe - May 31, 2011

Hi Kim, sorry I lost touch with your blog, I think for a while you stopped posting so much, and then I got out of the habit of coming here. Bad me. I’ll try and read some of your posts and catch up on your life. Hope you are doing well? Missed you!


Leave a Reply

