jump to navigation

One Week In April 13, 2011

Posted by Kimmothy in Home Life, Life, Marriage, Work.
trackback

Funny thing about being unemployed – Sunday late afternoons/early evenings still fill me with a morbid, creeping feeling of dread. Not surprising, since I’ve always had the Sunday Willies no matter what was going on in my life. I think that may be why I ended up loving The Sopranos (and Mad Men and Breaking Bad and Family Guy etc.) so much; ah, the mind-numbing comfort of television. I’m thinking if I do a quick search of Sunday night shows in the history of television from the late 1970’s until now, I’d bet a good many of them have made my favorites list. Intriguing.

I’m not the only one with Sunday Night-itis either; my sister knows what I’m talking about.

This week I have three interviews scheduled, one of which I completed yesterday. Is there anything more insidious than a job interview? After going to the monthly therapist appointment, it became apparent the similarities between a job interview and talking one-on-one to your shrink. In both cases, all attention is focused intensely on you. You’re being questioned and then worry about what the answers you give could mean to you. You’re being judged (and we all know your therapist judges you – I mean, come on) and analyzed. The only real difference is how I feel afterwards: the therapy makes me feel mostly positive and reaffirmed, while I spend the hours after the interviews going over all the things I wish I would’ve said and berating myself for being a dorky moron.

And I swear, if one more person asks me where I want to be five years from now this is the answer I’m giving: At the Botox doctor.

Brian, who I’ve many times established is a way more laid back and positive person than myself, is in no hurry for me to rush going back to work. He’s enjoying the fruits of the stay-at-home wife, including the thoughtfully prepared dinners that are ready soon after he gets home and all the clean laundry that is not only clean but also actually put away. I enjoy it for the most part as well, but I’d be having even more fun if I knew what the time frame I’m going to have was. If I knew for sure that sometime in the next few weeks I’ll  be reporting to a new job, the next few weeks would be fantastically stress-free. But we all know that’s not the way things work, especially if you’re living my life.

One thing I’m really thankful for though – if you have to be unemployed, Spring is a very pleasant time to do it. And anyway, I’m not at all attractive during the Summer months, what with the make-up that slides off my face, the neverending war against the frizz and light colored, Summer-appropriate clothing that is NOT my preferred style in any way. I look best in dark colors and mostly all covered up. For many reasons, here’s hoping the Spring version of me gets hired, so by the time Summer version arrives it’s too late and they’re already stuck looking at me every day.

Comments»

1. Swistle - April 13, 2011

YES about Sunday afternoons. ALWAYS dismal.

Kimmothy - April 13, 2011

I would love to do a study on that; if I could get federal funding for this I’d be all over it.

2. Karen - April 13, 2011

I can relate to the Sunday Night-itis. The botox doctor too, for that matter. Age will have to drag my kicking and screaming ass.

Half jokingly, I tell my husband all the time that my place is on the home. That, for the most part, I’m OK with antiquated gender roles. Dinner smells wafting throughout the house by 5:30pm? No problem. Clean house and laundry? I love that shit. It’s my therapy and I am being totally serious. The way I see it, if I only have to worry about those things, those things that are easy to anticipate and control, and fairly simple to accomplish (when there’s not much to interfere) then, I’m golden. This sadly will likely not happen for me. Sometimes, I hate real life. So, enjoy your time spent as Donna Reed, Kim. It’s, if anything, a welcome break from reality.

Good luck with the interviews! You’ll find something you love and pays the bills. I know you will.

So, you makin’ pot roast tonight? Cornish game hens, perhaps?

Kim - April 19, 2011

I really like (most of) the wifely duties myself – which is lucky for the man since he can sometimes have caveman qualities! Now if I would ever actually PUT the clean laundry AWAY after it gets washed, I’d feel pretty damn good about myself.

3. Maria - April 14, 2011

I’ve only been unemployed at one time in my life and that was when I deliberately stayed home to raise my daughter until she was in kindergarten. I look back now on all that delicious cozy up time with my child and wonder why I didn’t appreciate it more. She is nearly 12 now and I have been back full time on the job for 7 years.

I seem to recall that when she napped, I would compulsively go over my savings account figures. I was TERRIFIED that I would run out of money before I went back to work.

I think I am just not meant to be a stay-at-home person.

So…what do you make for dinner? Are you like a gourmet cook by now?

Kim - April 19, 2011

If I know there’s an end in sight where I’ll be working again, I can enjoy it – hopefully there soon will be or I’m going to run out of money spending it all on hair color to keep the grays away.
No gourmet here, but I made some damn good hashbrown casserole the other day!


Leave a Reply

