jump to navigation

Last of the ’10 Recaps, No Really January 10, 2011

Posted by Kimmothy in Experience, Lists, Meme.
trackback

Because we’re getting an unexpected snow day tomorrow (which in reality sounds like it’s going to be more of a sleet day, but I’ll take it) and the sedative hasn’t kicked in yet, why not. Sundry and various other bloggers have posted this the past few years and I always enjoy reading them so here goes nothing.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before? Lost twenty-ish pounds (mainly because I never needed to before, but regardless). Ate at Paula Deen’s restaurant (ironically during the weightloss period). Got paid for writing. Got paid for reading.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions and will you make more for this year? I tend to feel more comfortable with using “goals” as opposed to “resolutions” – more leeway that way. I’d say we definitely achieved some goals, mostly financial, but I’ve not really committed to anything specific for the coming year. Keep your expections low but keep trying anyway; that’s my motto.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Why, of course! In fact during the painful, not being able to get knocked up period of time, I had FOUR friends who weren’t really trying get pregnant and subsequently give birth this past year. God has a healthy sense of humor, is all I can figure.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Well, I wouldn’t necessarily consider them close to me but Brian’s family saw three untimely deaths which obviously did affect me. Here’s hoping that’s enough of that for a very long while.

5. What countries did you visit? None. And I’d venture a guess I won’t be visiting any this year either.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 you lacked in 2010? A late-model, reliable vehicle. And yes, still a kid.

7. What dates from 2010 will be etched upon your memory and why?
– February 12th: had a long snowfall which started late afternoon and lasted well into the night, giving me a winter wonderland for a little while on my birthday the following day.
– April 23rd: the last day I was able to use my car – Bessie was towed home from work where she mostly sat in the driveway minus a couple of attempts to revive her, until yesterday when I sold her.
– May 8th: While down in Orlando visiting mom & Sister, I was reunited (and it felt so good) with one of my oldest, dearest friends Shari, whom I hadn’t seen in over eight years.
– June 22nd: paid off Bessie which was bittersweet since she wasn’t exactly running at the time.
– August 15th: paid off the truck which was a lot more satisfying since it was. Of course a week or so later its radiator blew up and had to be replaced but it wouldn’t be our life if something like that didn’t happen.
– September 11th: saw Kid Rock for the 9th time a mile away at Fort Jackson. Got into a little girlfight, which should also be listed under things I’d never done before. Great night.
– October 3rd: in the early morning of the last day of a great weekend my friend Annette had come to visit, we got the phone call my sister-in-law had been killed.
– October 16th: during a beautiful weekend in upstate New York while visiting my favorite cousin and his family, Sister called me for the first time in months. I’m not sure why we hadn’t talked for so long but I hope we never go that long again.
– November 11th: Grace came to visit for a weekend where we got to spend quality time, just the two of us, together for the first time in a long time.
– December 14th: found out the bane of my existence at work, my boss, was no longer going to have any supervisory duties, making her my EX-boss.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? I’d have to say the time, energy and sweat I put into losing the weight. Some of those 90 degree/110% humidity days were hell but I went out and walked in a lot of them and it felt like a big accomplishment every time I did it.

9. What was your biggest failure? The recurring not getting pregnant theme. Some people may not view this as a failure; I do.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Nothing serious, thank God. Although I say this in all seriousness: 2011 is probably going to have to be the Year of the Colonoscopy. Because, pun intended, shit ain’t right.

11. What was the best thing you bought? This here computer machine I’m using to type this on right now.

12. Where did most of your money go? No question – the upkeep and paying off of the two vehicles.

13. What did you get really excited about? Finally seeing an ever-brightening light at the end of the long dark financial tunnel. We’re by no means completely out in the bright sunlight yet, but it continues to become more of a reality.

14. What song will always remind you of 2010? Unfortunately probably something really annoying I heard non-stop on the radio by Lady Gaga or that trashy girl with a dollar sign in her name.

15. Compared to this time last year are you:
– Happier or sadder? Most definitely happier
– Thinner or fatter? Most DEFINITELY thinner
– Richer or poorer? I’d never use “rich” and “me” in the same sentence, but we are definitely better off than we were a year ago

16. What do you wish you’d done more of? Kept in better contact with my mom, other family members and some friends.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of? Worry, but that would be my answer for any and every year.

18. How did you spend Christmas? We got our first Christmas Eve and morning to spend alone ever in the history of us and then spent the rest of the day traveling to various family of his to exchange gifts and eat.

19. What was your favorite TV program? Breaking Bad, Breaking Bad and did I mention Breaking Bad? Mad Men runs a close second.

20. What were your favorite books of the year? I just did a whole post on that but off the top of my head probably The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

21. Favorite music from the past year? I haven’t devoted enough time to listening to music lately to give a qualified answer and I plan to change that in the upcoming year because I just recently remembered music makes me really happy.

22. Favorite films of the year? Compared to what I used to watch I’ve been shamefully slacking in this department to but probably The Town.

23. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you? We rode around looking at snow, Brian took me on a shopping trip for books, perfume and make-up and we ate dinner at what became a favorite restaurant, Tokyo Grill. I was forty-fucking-one.

24. What one thing would’ve made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I’ll skip the obvious baby answer and go with more sex.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010? That hasn’t really changed since the early 90’s, but I will say this was the year I actively started putting more effort into my make-up and skincare routine. Your 40’s will do that to you.

26. What kept you sane? Exercise, my therapist and like every year, books.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010. Making a commitment and actually sticking to it actually can lead to positive results.

Comments»

1. huladog - January 19, 2011

I’m happy I made it to the list and happy that you are such a good record-keeper. And yes…reunited, and it feels so good!


Leave a Reply

