jump to navigation

Things & Stuff August 26, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Books, Experience, Home Life, Uncategorized.
trackback

Just add salt


Besides a plethora of peppers, this here is the only successful thing that came out of the small garden we planted in June.

I hate when I randomly come across an amazing book that I think no one has heard of and then soon after I finish reading it, find out they’re making a movie out of it. This has happened to me a few times, most recently being a few of years ago with I Love You Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle and then again this week with Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You by Peter Cameron. Because I’ve lived for awhile now and I know from experience as much as I loved the book, I will exponentially HATE the movie. Maybe if I could be in charge of casting these movies I wouldn’t have such a sourpuss attitude about it but that’s highly unlikely, therefore the list of movies I’ll never see continues to grow. Weirdly both of those examples fall under the YA category, but that’s just coincidence.

The other day we were on our way to a funeral (Brian’s mother’s family has lost two members unexpectedly in the past month – very strange) and we stopped to fill up on gas. As per usual, he pumped while I went inside to stock up on the road trip essentials. The clerk in this particular store is a somewhat intimidating looking girl but is usually pleasant, despite her habit of constantly talking loudly on her cell phone which takes precedence over any customer service she needs to perform. On this day however, things were to be very different. As I was picking through the individual Jolly Rancher bin to get as many sour apples as possible, she started talking to me. And talking. Talking to the point that I’d already paid for everything and saw out of the corner of my eye Brian had pulled up to the front door and all I could think to do was keep subtly inching toward the door as I waited for there to be a break in the conversation where I could tactfully say bye. I started to feel as though it was a comedy sketch or maybe someone was trying to revive the show Punk’d. Without any prompting or encouragement from me I learned about her son, her son’s father who she’s not together with right now but he loves her and they’re trying to work things out but he found out she had a Facebook page he didn’t know about, but that’s only because she sells t-shirts and had forgotten she made the page and how he always looks for something to be mad at her for, but that he had just sent her a text calling her Goober which she thinks was meant to be funny but isn’t sure because she calls her fifteen-year-old cousin that and, and, and…By the time I made it outside and got into the truck, Brian, phone in hand, said “I wasn’t sure if I should call the police because I thought for sure the store was being robbed, but then I saw two customers walk out.” All I can think now is amphetamines are a hell of a drug.

(I’m obviously) On the look-out for any miniscule signs of Autumn and this is what I’ve found so far:
– Halloween t-shirts at Target
– Every so often we’ll hear a very loud, sudden noise which scares the shit out of us but also makes me happy because it means the hickory nut tree is dropping its nuts (ha) onto our metal porch roof
– Also I’m starting to find acorns to step on during my walks
– Even though I’m starting my walks around the same time as always it’s now a lot darker by the time I’m done
– The stupid long pre-season football is annoying, but that music, duh-duh-duh-DUH…DUH-DUH-DUH-DUHHHHH…always strikes excitement in my heart
– I dyed my hair back to its best incarnation of violet red and as soon as the new color was revealed post-drying and straightening, all was immediately right with the world.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - August 26, 2010

Nummy tomato!!! I like mine with a little black pepper if I add anything to them at all. They are just perfect the way they are to me. I think I’ll cut some up with cucumbers for dinner tonight.

They are doing the same thing with Let Me In. There has already been a good Swedish movie based off of the book, but now they have decided we need an English version what with the trendiness of vampires these days. I don’t look forward to that.

2. morethananelectrician - August 26, 2010

There aren’t that any nuts dropping at the local VFW.

3. Swistle - August 26, 2010

I think we need photos of hair, plus maybe product info.


Leave a Reply

