jump to navigation

A Mid-Summer Night’s Walk July 22, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Exercise, Fam Damily, Home Life, Uncategorized.
trackback

Ah, that most magical time of year – the time when I check the tropical update daily, just hoping for some kind of storm to blow up the east coast and stir up some excitement; anything to break the monotony of heat/humidity. I’ve given up trying not to talk about the weather and have come to accept it’s just part of who I am. My dear grandmother was also obsessed with it and I miss comparing notes with her about what we watched on The Weather Channel. My plan is to do what I do every year for this six-week period in Hell – bitch about it, survive it and cry tears of joy when that first cool snappy breeze blows in sometime around the end of September. I think it’s a solid plan.

Speaking of, August is coming up fast, and like last year, I’m trying to make my way down South for the first week of the month. Yes it’s very amusing that someone who hates the heat would be headed that way during the hottest part of the year, but what can I say – I appreciate irony. The biggest obstacle has been trying to get a mechanic, any mechanic really, to return a phone call regarding replacing my clutch. Haven’t they heard there’s a recession on and people are looking for work? I feel like putting out an ad: “Have money – will gladly part with it in exchange for your services.” I mean really. After months of not having it, I’m actually looking forward to driving Bessie again. Especially if she’s running right. Edit to add: A mechanic named Bubba has taken posession of Bessie and it looks like, fingers crossed, I’ll have her back on Monday. Woo to the hoo!!

The weight loss thing has been going really well. It does take up a lot of space in my life and in my head, but I’m already seeing some payoffs. Besides improvements mentally and physically, I just feel…lighter. It’s hard to explain. The most enjoyable part has been my almost-daily walks. I wait until around 7 – 7:30 when it’s cooled down to a brisk 90 and set out through my neighborhood. Usually too on Saturday mornings I head out right after waking up to beat the heat and experience the morning version of the atmosphere. Most of the time now I leave the mp3 at home, because as much as I like how music makes exercise go by faster, I realized I really love and maybe even crave the quiet.Sundry just posted about walking as well and of course she describes it a lot prettier than I can, but it’s all true. It’s been a surprising source of happiness and stress relief for me and I’m finding when I miss a day I really miss it. Regardless of the weight loss, this is something I’m so, SO glad I started this. Walking. Who knew. My neighborhood is funny; I spend half the time lusting over beautiful, Charleston-like lakeside mini-mansions and the other half thanking God I don’t live in one of the sagging, dilapidated shack-like structures. Which I guess is a good metaphor for life.

Brian had a cousin pass away last week, a surprising and tragic event in his family, as the kid was only sixteen. Drug overdose. It’s obviously been really rough for the family, including Brian who went through a little period of feeling like he wished he would’ve taken more of an interest in the kid when he first heard he was having problems. I hear about things like this, especially when they hit close to home and it’s just more of the There But for the Grace of God feelings for me.

I’m really thankful I survived myself. A lot of times it’s hard and sometimes it really and truly sucks, but life is a beautiful thing and I’m very happy I get to live it.

Comments»

1. crisi-tunity - July 22, 2010

I’m sorry for the loss of Brian’s cousin. That’s so sad.

I’m also happy about Bessie and the lightness. Good luck retaining both!

Kimmothy - July 23, 2010

Thank you.

2. morethananelectrician - July 22, 2010

These last six weeks ave been brutal. I like your spirit and the “place” you are in now. I am learning to not let my highs peak to “high” and keep my lows from getting to “low.”

Life is strange sometimes and it is pretty easy to see how people start to slide and have a hard time regaining their footing.

Kimmothy - July 23, 2010

It’s true; I guess the goal is to keep everything at a happy medium and that can be challenging for me too.

3. Taoist Biker - July 23, 2010

I think MTAE has an excellent point. Keep maintaining, keep making a slow and steady path upward in your mental state rather than a rollercoaster ride – it still feels damn good in the end.

Another day of 105-110 heat indices here, woohoo! I didn’t run, because I knew I had to work in an un-air-conditioned warehouse for a few hours in the morning. It still SUCKED.

Kimmothy - July 23, 2010

I keep telling myelf that the payoff for having to walk through a fucking sauna every night is how amazing it’s going to be to walk when it cools off. It’s going to be almost sexual.

Kimmothy - July 23, 2010

I keep telling my elf?
Hahaha – love a good typo!

4. Taoist Biker - July 23, 2010

Your elf wants you to talk to it some more. And he says to bring the Epilady, he’s starting to look all butch again.


Leave a Reply

