jump to navigation

Long Weekend Adventures July 6, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Baptists, Fam Damily, Foodies, Home Life, Movies.
trackback

The three-day weekend was the perfect mix of lazy, productive and fun, which is my favorite kind. Plus we had a break in the heat which just made everything that much more awesome.

Highlights:

– Friday night we met one of Brian’s friends at this little Irish pubby place so Brian could pay him for helping us clean the latest foreclosure. Even though I don’t drink anymore, bars are an endless source of amusement for me and when this dude came up and gave me a list of bootleg DVD’s he had for sale, I laughed and said “Thank you sir for your kind offer, but I would NEVER want to take away any of the hard-earned funds from those moral, making-the-world-a-better-place celebrities – why, this offends my very soul!” (Heather knows the real story but she’s sworn to secrecy.)

– Brian got all shitty with me for no reason Saturday morning and this doesn’t happen very often. I used it to my advantage however, and didn’t protest when he drove off in a huff to go do some chores for his parents. I spent the afternoon on the front porch reading my library book and followed that with a deeply satisfying nap. Later after he got home he was fine again of course, and we had a lot of fun making fun of a certain vampire movie that just came out in the theater last week but by some mysterious reason we were able to watch at home already. I know nothing.

– Moral of that last one: if he ever gets pissy, let him – especially if it’s going to mean some free time at home alone.

– Yesterday I went to lunch with my MIL, Brian’s favorite aunt and cousin who I’ve always really liked, despite the fact she strongly resembles a model. She’s one of those gorgeous girls who has no idea she’s gorgeous and so that makes her likable. We went to a place called Pawley’s Front Porch which has recently been on the show Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the Food Network. They’re known for their burgers, but to be honest, while it was definitely a tasty burger, I’ve had better. Then again, maybe if my brain isn’t constantly adding up the calories every time I put something in my mouth, I might’ve enjoyed it more? No, seriously – I can think of three places right off the top of my head I like the burgers more. Still it was a really cool place and it was a really nice time.  

– Our washing machine quit us a few weeks back and very luckily George had a spare. With the switch-out in progress, it was obviously the best time to finish repairing the damaged laundry room, and we started tackling it yesterday afternoon. Now, when I say “laundry room,” what I really mean is, “tiny added-on space connected to the kitchen by a door and hanging onto the house by magic.” That’s where the pipe broke over the winter and knowing it was going to be a hellish project, we’ve kind of been putting it off until absolutely necessary, i.e. now. After a quick Home Depot run, we managed to clean all the crap out of the room, rip out the particle board walls, remove the unmentionable-infested insulation and sweep and vaccum off the curling linoleum floor. The garbage men are going to hate us today when they see what lies await on our curb. We still have a little ways to go, but in the meantime we were really happy with ourselves with our progress and excited to soon finally have this thing checked off the list. The goal of doing some home improvement project every week has been working out really well and we’re motivated to keep going until there’s nothing left to do except move out.

Bonus: totally forgot I looked like this while running garbage back and forth to the curb:

Not Throwing Gang Signs

People did give me some weird looks, but I’m so used to it, it didn’t hit me until much later I looked like some psycho who was performing frightening procedures inside my house.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - July 6, 2010

The chick throwing gang signs wearing a surgical mask and gloves is TOTALLY the one that I would NOT mess with.

Splatter yourself with bright red paint and you could walk through Detroit at 2am with $100 dollar bills pinned to your clothes. 😀

Kimmothy - July 6, 2010

I’m totally saving these items for Halloween this year; thanks.

2. swistle - July 6, 2010

Ha! I love Taoist Biker’s comment!

Movie story—so funny!

Kimmothy - July 6, 2010

I didn’t say anything that might incriminate myself. I think.

3. crisi-tunity - July 6, 2010

At one point when I was (legitimately) viewing Eclipse on the big screen this weekend, there was a cinematic flourish that just made me cackle. The friend I saw it with just looked at me: WTH’s so funny? She didn’t get it. I’ll bet you did.

But she did agree that Jasper’s hair is SO BAD.

Kimmothy - July 6, 2010

Jasper actually didn’t bother me as much as Jacob. At one point Brian said “Is he, like, ALLERGIC to shirts?” and I just died. I mean, shirtless in the snowy mountains? I understand he’s a hot-blooded, sexually frustrated werewolf, but that was a little too obviously “for the ladies” for me. I don’t respect arbitrary abs.

crisi-tunity - July 6, 2010

His body temperature runs at 104 degrees. He’s like a full-on hot-flashing woman all the time. And he’s apt to transform and ruin whatever shirt he’s in (although not the pants, those have the Hulk exception), so why not stay shirtless?

Also, he’s the only example I know of constant gratuitous toplessness on the male side of the equation in Hollywood, like, ever, so I don’t really mind his evening things out a bit.

That said, even Edward remarks on his lack of shirt in the movie.

Kimmothy - July 6, 2010

Yes, one of my friends alerted me to the fact Edward says that in the movie. I didn’t notice because we were too busy adding our own dialogue and commentary.
Mark Wahlberg is pretty liberal with the shirtlessness too and I’m mighty okay with that.
Also – so I have 104 degree body temps to look forward to when the hot flashes start to kick in? FanTASTIC!

4. iamheatherjo - July 6, 2010

The texts were cracking me up!

“Transylvania 90210.”

Kimmothy - July 7, 2010

OMG, I FORGOT ABOUT THAT!!

5. Whiskeymarie - July 7, 2010

I regularly have to tackle home-improvement projects that require a mask and possibly a HAZMAT suit. Oddly enough, I think my neighbors are kind of used to it by now.

And I think I’m the only human on the planet who hasn’t read the books or seen any of the “Twilight” movies, but I’ve seen enough clips to get the shirtless thing. Seriously, dude- at least put on a t-shirt or something. I’m with you on the arbitrary abs.

Kimmothy - July 7, 2010

At least when you do home stuff you actually have cool before/after pictures. All we’re doing is trying to prevent the house from imploding.
Ah, a Twilight virgin. How I envy you so.

6. iamheatherjo - July 8, 2010

You’re not alone! I haven’t read the books or seen the Twilight movies either, Whiskeymarie!

Taoist Biker - July 9, 2010

Well, me either, but I don’t think I count. What with this penis and all.

7. Kimmothy - July 9, 2010

Okay you guys don’t have to rub it in.


Leave a Reply

