jump to navigation

Lull June 14, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Friends, Health, Home Life, Money.
trackback

Let’s go ahead and get the complaint out of the way first: it’s fucking hot. At the risk of Heather Jo making fun of me for stating the obvious (one of the things we talk about frequently is weather and she laughs at people who complain or act surprised when they’ve lived somewhere forever and should know by now what the deal is), I can’t reiterate enough how much I hate it. Unlike her, who is one of the lucky people who seem to have a high tolerance for a wide array of temps, I think I’m starting to become opposite of that. Brian says I have a comfort range of about five degrees and I’m starting to think he’s right (although 65 – 75 is probably more like it, so okay, ten).

We’ve had high 90’s or low 100’s for the past few days and as you may guess, it makes me want to punch something. I love being outside but when it’s like this I avoid it as much as possible and then I get sad and feel like a cave dweller.

 Luckily Saturday evening we had something to do, which forced us to leave the house. I was thankful for it. Friends of ours just moved into a new house and needed our truck to move some of the leftover big things, including a treadmill which weighs more Earth. We waited until almost sundown to get started and though it was still steamy out, it was a vast improvement. It was sweaty work to be sure, but we always have fun hanging out with them and were really happy to be able to help because we know how much moving sucks ass. They have a gorgeous new house and I’m really excited for them. Sitting out on the deck swatting the moths away, I could visualize how amazing it’ll be to visit and cook out there in good weather!

One thing with hibernating right now though is that when you stay home you’re not spending any money. (Obviously I still could – Amazon is possible no matter what, but I’m avoiding that too and being a good little library goer) Right now we’re on the verge of the car being paid off (so close, so close!) and also repaired, a washing machine that seems to have lost its ability to spin and a truck that has new weird noises every week. It’s frustrating for both of us to feel like we’re holed up every weekend, but on the other hand the light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter and more real, so we’re trying to stay focused on that. We’ve weathered way worse times and I know we’ll get through this little period of ennui as well.

Working on losing weight helps me too. I know if nothing else, I am making progress with something. If exercising and eating well is the only thing I’ve accomplished that day, well, that’s better than what I was doing before. It does wonders for my mood to put on a pair of pants that didn’t fit a few weeks ago or to see the numbers going in the right direction on the scale. Yesterday I even tortured myself a little and watched Food Network – Paula Deen was making bbq ribs, potato salad, homemade ice cream and oh, I just laughed and laughed as I ate my salad.

One good thing about me – I can always find ways to amuse myself. That’s an important quality to have, especially during times like these.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - June 14, 2010

I complain about the heat, but I still like it better than all the snow and ice. I never sat at home on a Saturday night in 105F temperatures debating the odds that going to a movie would end with the car skidding off the road on ice and freezing to death before I can get help.

I’m officially at a different notch on my belt – things are working. That’s one thing about summer. It helps you (literally) sweat your ass off.

Kimmothy - June 15, 2010

Yes, yes! I went for a walk last night after it had cooled down to a brisk 95 and did notice how quickly I became very sweaty and then a happy surprise on the scale this morning – I will make this heat my bitch.

2. crisitunity - June 14, 2010

It was so STICKY in Asheville (which is only just north of the western end of SC). I was pouring sweat. Turns out this weekend in Maryland was pretty damn humid too, so I didn’t miss much.

My tolerance ranges high – I like it between 60 and 85. Any cooler and I get miserable; any hotter and I sort of stop moving. I can really tolerate up to 90, but not without knowing that air conditioning is available somewhere soon.

But that means my hibernating tends to happen during the winter, rather than summer, which is the time that I like to eat and eat and eat.

Kimmothy - June 15, 2010

Yeah, Asheville’s only about 2 hours from here but believe it or not there’s usually a good ten degree difference since them thar’s up in the mountains. That is my dream town of where I’d love to live.

crisi-tunity - June 15, 2010

In Biltmore, right? Me too. We should see if we can get together a down payment on that. 🙂

Kimmothy - June 15, 2010

The Biltmore sounds about right – at least I’d know I’d finally have adequate closet space.

3. iamheatherjo - June 14, 2010

Being able to see the light at the end of the tunnel (and knowing it’s not an oncoming trail ala Wile E. Coyote) and being able to amuse yourself are two of my very favorite things about you.

Kimmothy - June 15, 2010

And the same goes to you – because sometimes it’s all we have!


Leave a Reply

