jump to navigation

Vacay Replay May 19, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Fam Damily, Friends, Uncategorized, Vacation.
trackback

The Florida trip was good but I’m just now feeling like I’m getting back into the swing.

A big reason I went was so we could sit down face to face with Mother and go over some things that should’ve been dealt with a long time ago. She’s sixty-five and not in the best of health (although for someone who consumes large quantities of alcohol on a daily basis and has a chloresterol count somewhere in the neighborhood of “solid,” she’s holding up surprisingly well) and we needed to talk about things like medical, financial and what-if scenarios. When my dad died it was so sudden, we were shocked and lost and luckily family stepped in to help out, but it makes me feel better to be a little more prepared for when the time comes for her. Which, no matter what I’ve said about her, I obviously don’t want that to happen for awhile, but still. It was an emotional conversation, but it had to be done and we all felt relieved afterwards.

As far as what we did, well, there’s not much to report. I learned an important lesson, though. A household that contains a three-year-old has a schedule which is wholly dictated by the little person, and can change on a whim, depending on the mood of the child. File that under B for Big ol’ Duh, I know. Was I aware of this prior to being part of it? Yes. But like all things, it’s hard to actually imagine until you’re the one experiencing it and the last time I was up close and personal with a girl, aged three was Elizabeth and now she’s about to turn fifteen. It’s been awhile, is what I’m saying.

She wasn’t feeling her best and after a quick doctor’s visit Thursday it was determined she had the leftovers of some prior sickies. We quickly decided a sick kid does not a fun Disney trip make and cancelled that plan. So we mostly hung out around Sister’s house, which definitely has its perks: pool, large TV’s in multiple rooms and plenty of reading material, of both the hand-held and laptop varieties. We left the house to get groceries and took a quick trip to some stores while the little one was napping one day. This just in: raising a kid is not easy. My sister works a full-time job with flexible hours, but it’s a job that the more she works the more money she makes so if she’s not working, she has a vague nagging feeling she should be. To be honest, and don’t take this the wrong way if you’re reading this Sister – I’ve never seen her more frazzled. I kept putting myself in her position and I’m sure I’d be the same way. She’s a great mom, wife and active member of society and I think it’s making her damn exhausted.

Do I still want a child? Of course! I’ve just come to the conclusion I sleep waaaay more than what would is allowable should that ever happen. So there’s that.

One great thing happened (well two, if you count the fact we developed an old roll of film we thought and hoped was from a Kid Rock concert we attended over five years ago where we were five feet from the stage and we were right and the pictures came out clear as day and there was Kid smiling at us in pictures – woo!) (and I do count that). My good friend Shari, someone I haven’t seen in eight years, came over and hung out with us for an afternoon/evening of swimming, wine, pasta, catching up and reminiscing. The three of us used to hang out a lot in this fashion many moons ago in our 20’s and life was less complicated and we formed a strong bond that was just completely reaffirmed the other day. There’s something about being around someone you’ve known and who has known you for almost twenty years, that just feels a little…magical. Or that just might be Shari, because she’s one of those people who makes you feel like that. Either way it was spectacular.

So yeah, the trip. Fairly uneventful yet fairly awesome all at the same time.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - May 19, 2010

Uneventful yet awesome pretty much defines my ideal vacation!

Glad you had a good one. You deserved it.

Kimmothy - May 19, 2010

Thank you; I’m already looking forward to my next one!

2. Heather - May 19, 2010

I’m glad you got The Mother Business taken care of. I know it is icky, but it was needed and you did it. YAY!

I want to play in the pool with the horsie doggies.

Kimmothy - May 20, 2010

Watching those dang dogs in that pool was definitely a highlight of the trip. I’m sure that surprises you not at all.

3. Shari Sherman - May 21, 2010

Me and my magic…..aaawwwww….it’s there if you can get past the lateness thing….I had such a great time with you and Sister. Hanging with you guys just feels like coming home. Hopefully, there will be more in the near future. The phase that Kristin is going through is still pretty fresh in my mind. IMHO, it was the most GRUELING one for me. So many changes with the little one becoming more independent (but still clinging to mommy, Mommy, MOmmy, MOMMY!) Every minute of every day is FILLED with things to do. Even if you find a minute to read or relax (which is usually in the potty) that time is limited because any minute there will be a little beastie banging on the door, MOMMY! And the funnest part of all is doing this on the bare minimum of sleep. I’m a person who doesn’t need 8 hours, I never have, I’m pretty good with 6 and can’t usually sleep past 7. But 3 or 4???? And I know Kristin enjoys a good 9-plus. The good news is that phase passes. That bad news is you miss it when it does.

Kimmothy - May 21, 2010

I was amazed at the difference in the clinginess from just six months ago when I saw them last. I give major props to you, my sister and anyone else who has been through it – it’s intense. And yes, Sister used to be a champion sleeper so I’m amazed she’s holding up as well as she is!

4. Shari Sherman - May 21, 2010

Like I miss you!

Kimmothy - May 21, 2010

I’m just so happy knowing it won’t be so long until I get to see you next!!

5. Vodka and Ground Beef - June 4, 2010

“Do I still want a child? Of course! I’ve just come to the conclusion I sleep waaaay more than what would is allowable should that ever happen. So there’s that.”

I love that line. That is exactly how I feel.

Kimmothy - June 4, 2010

My sister used to be a sleep nut; now she hates me whenever I tell her I’ve taken a nap.


Leave a Reply

