jump to navigation

Big Ol’ Jet Airliner May 11, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Fam Damily, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation.
trackback

Oy.
As a somewhat experienced traveler (yes, most all of my traveling in the last twenty years has been limited to going up and down the eastern seaboard but it still counts), you’d think by now I would know to take some time off of work prior to the time I’m taking off of work. But no. While I have marked a lot of things off of my to-do list, I still have an upsetting amount of things left on it. I woke up this morning and kind of laughed at my idiocy. Then I got really stressed. Then I decided to only work half a day and calmed down again.

Here’s a secret though: if you’re getting ready for a trip and you’re all worried about work things and house things and all the little details that go along with disrupting your daily routines, it doesn’t matter. Because as soon as you take off on that plane, train or automobile and take a look around at the new and exciting sites and sounds, all that crap disappears. It’s true; it happens to me every time. Though I’m not fond of flying, I LOVE airports. I’m sure I’ve talked about this before, but I’m getting old, so sorry. I love being alone in an airport, buying overpriced coffee and my usual treat of a new magazine. I love knowing after only a 90-minute flight I’ll be stepping off the plane five hundred miles away and seeing my sister and niece’s faces.

So, yeah. Things have been cuckoo for a few days and the rest of today is going to be somewhat challenging (long story short but for logistical reasons, I’m having to spend the night at the inlaws’ tonight because they’re taking me to the Charlotte airport bright and early tomorrow morning) BUT in twenty-four hours from now I’ll be boarding my flight. And for the next five-ish days, I’ll be with some of my favorite people.

This post was entirely unnecessary, but I feel a little better. In short: busy, stressy, excitement, fun.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - May 11, 2010

Really? I love flying and hate airports. Hmph.

I agree with you wholeheartedly on both (1) taking a day off before traveling, and (2) it’s no point stressing because none of it matters once you’re moving, anyway.

Hope you enjoy the hell out of your trip!

Kimmothy - May 11, 2010

I used to love flying but then I got older and more neurotic. Airports are amazing for people watching!

2. Heather - May 11, 2010

I’m with TB. Love the flying, dislike the airports.

I don’t take time off before traveling but I don’t usually get all stressy either. Those that know me understand that I start the packing process about a week before I actually go anywhere. My downfall? I rarely ever pack enough stuff. But I truly believe that is what Target is for.

Have mucho fun and text me!! 😀

Kimmothy - May 11, 2010

I’ve gotten much better at under-packing over the years – especially since stupid airlines started charging for extra bags. And I’ve finally figured out that yes, there usually is a Target wherever I’m going.
You know I’ll keep in touch!

3. morethananelectrician - May 11, 2010

I just worry about where I am going to use the bathroom when I go o a trip…everything else doesn’t really matter.

Kimmothy - May 11, 2010

Oh great – I hadn’t thought of that.
Except if I can make it until noon tomorrow I’m fine with going potty at Sister’s house.

4. LL Cool Joe - May 12, 2010

I LOVE airports too! I thought it was just me. I hate the security check part, removing all my bling and chains pisses me off but after that I love to go to a cafe or bar, walk round the shops and listen to my music. It’s the start of my holiday really.

Kimmothy - May 13, 2010

That’s exactly how I feel – I get into vacation mode immediately when all the stuff you have to do is done and you have time to wander around before you have to get on the plane!


Leave a Reply

