jump to navigation

You Can’t Spell ‘Home’ without Ho May 5, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Home Life, Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m not sure what it is about the changing of the seasons (and I’m through kidding myself; we’re definitely on the verge of the three-month suckfest, with temps already creeping well enough into the 90’s a couple of times just to make sure to remind me I have absolutely no choice in the matter but to move farther North – that I am 100% weather’s bitch) that makes me alternately giddy/nostalgic/tired, but that’s what’s been happening the last few weeks. The time change has never affected me all too very much – I make it a policy to compensate for Springing Ahead by Sleeping An Extra Hour – and I do so enjoy the longer days this time of year when it’s still pleasant enough to be on my porch swing in the evenings.

I’ve made no secret of the love I have for this place. Or of the fact I miss my Florida people all the time, which is still true but when we lived down there I spent most of my time yearning to be back here. So the conundrum: is it more important to live where you love or live near your loved-ones? Hmm, deep. I don’t know; I guess it depends on the individual. Or maybe I’m just not happy unless I’m sad about something? Scary.

We’ve been doing a lot of stuff around the house lately, along the lines of repairing, throwing away and fixing up. When the time comes we find a new place, we want to be prepared to GTFO as quickly and easily as possible. George has already shown us a couple of places and knows we’d be interested in moving if the place and the price is right for us. It helps (very much) he’s a realtor and knows what we can and can’t afford (although he owns a place that is my DREAM HOUSE that’s been on the market for over a year so what I’m really really hoping is he just gives up and sells us that one – stranger things have happened) and it really is a buyer’s market right now so who knows.

One of the things I’ve always loved about here is you can live in a wide variety of ways in a relatively small circumference. I, for instance, have done the apartment-almost-right-downtown thing, the house-in-the-suburbs thing, the home-WAAAY-out-in-the-country and shanty-on-the-lake thing, all of which made for a reasonable commute to work in the heart of the city. Right now we live in a smallish, older neighborhood which is pretty conveniently located for our needs. However, we have no interest in making the commitment to buy here because we both kind of agree we want more space, both inside and out. Brian especially. I mean, he’d kind of be really happy with a Waco-type compound space. My thing is, that’s cool, but I don’t want satellite TV. I’m serious; that’s a deal-breaker for me. Well, not really. But it would suck; I hate satellite. But for us, our preferences for country life far outweigh the lesser desirable things.

And then as if to just reassure us we were choosing wisely, our neighborhood decided to go down the shitter a little. The first thing that happened was a little over two weeks ago and even at the time I took it as a bad omen. As we were leaving for the book sale, the little old weird-but-nice lady next door got carted off in an ambulance. She hasn’t been back since and I’ve been fairly upset about it. Yes, there were times I pretended to be on the phone as I walked the dog so I wouldn’t have to stop and talk to her for forty-five minutes, but that’s more from my dislike of talking to people in general than anything she did. She’s the village cryer, the neighborhood gossip column and citizen watch group all rolled into one and I felt good knowing she was on the look-out for any and all shenannigans that may occur during the work day. She has no close relatives but was friendly with a few of the neighbors so I’ve been meaning to ask around and find out what’s up. I fear the worst because it’s my nature, but we’re hoping she’s just in like a physical rehab place or something. We hope.

Then, in approximately the same time period, a couple of families(?) groups(?) of people moved in a few houses down from us (on both sides) and they’ve all been having some large gatherings the past couple of Saturdays-into-Saturday-nights. Large parties. Loud, large parties. Which include lots of fun music I would’ve hated even if I were twenty years younger than I am now and plenty of pimp-my-rides, bass-pumping, questionable looking vehicles parking and riding up and down our street for hours at a time. And yes I am now eighty years old, why do you ask?

All that, plus the repeated occurances of shattered glass that keeps mysteriously appearing in the back yard and the frightening things we found in the walls of the laundry room, well all signs point to TIME TO GO. Plus, we’ve been in this house almost three years which for us equals a decade. In the meantime things aren’t really that bad so we’ll keep on keepin’ on with the home improvements and hope that the right place will present itself to us eventually. And then who knows – my dream of owning a goat might actually come true.

Comments»

1. crisitunity - May 5, 2010

In my mom’s neighborhood in Florida (which is full of actual eighty-year-olds), this woman moved in, started giving noisy parties, and began inviting over people who burgled some of the houses. At least, that’s what the old people think is going on. Under Florida’s incredibly weird and awesome petition laws, they’re petitioning her to move out of the neighborhood, and apparently it’s going to work. But Mom was upset that this had to happen right before she left the country for three months (!). She apparently doesn’t have the choice of moving out due to loud and criminal neighbors, but since you do, I say take it and mazel tov.

Kimmothy - May 6, 2010

I’ve always been pretty lucky with living in quiet places; I guess I’ve taken it for granted because I hate this.

2. morethananelectrician - May 5, 2010

Don’t rule out satellite TV. F*ck the cable company…and the rest of society. Whoops! Maybe I should live on a compound.

Kimmothy - May 6, 2010

We really have talked about starting one – without the spouse swapping, but that’s also sometimes up for discussion.

3. Heather - May 5, 2010

You were NOT supposed to mention the rodent poop.

Kimmothy - May 6, 2010

Oh shit – you’re right!
Editing.

4. Shari Sherman - May 6, 2010

Book sale! Goat!

Kimmothy - May 6, 2010

You’ve been around long enough to know both of these things have remained consistent!


Leave a Reply

