jump to navigation

Adventures From the Lower-Middle Class April 24, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Home Life, Nail Biter, Uncategorized, Whatever.
trackback

Remember how I joked about the day we got the car paid off would be the same day she would break down or explode or something similar? Well, I was a leetle off-base – we’re still a couple of hundred dollars away from paying her off, but two days ago was the beginning of the end of Bessie’s clutch. Yesterday morning I carefully (and very slowly) coaxed her in to work, because I had some major things going on at the office I couldn’t miss.

My mistake was taking her out at lunch to go to the bank which is only about a mile away from my office but still on campus. It was one of those situations where I had no choice about making a deposit – it was either that or have an automatic payment come out and suffer the overdraft consequences, and seriously? Not much makes me as angry as overdraft charges. I’d prefer to throw thirty dollars on the ground, cover it in something flammable and toss a match to it. I knew – KNEW – it was a bad idea taking Bessie out, but still. Fuck an overdraft fee. A co-worker offered to let me drive her truck but I am an idiot and declined. What would be the adventure in that, right?

So I head out to the bank. If you ever want to simultaneously start sweating profusely and immediately loosen your bowels, drive a broken car around a college campus at lunchtime on a Friday in 85-degrees. The good news is I made it to the bank and the money went in in time. The bad news is the car didn’t make it back to my office. But more good news: when I was stopped at the red light, knowing I wouldn’t be able to go when it turned green and cars were lining up behind me, I went so far past panic, I was back to calm. The light turned and I started waving people around me, saying I’m not sitting here for fun, fucker – GO. Don’t you always talk to people in tense traffic moments?

Yes. Well, they got the message, went around me and I slowly and very carefully let the car start rolling backwards down the hill and then turned into a complete ninja and maneuvered her backwards into a narrow parking lot. I was then able to inch forward into an empty – a byGod miracle – EMPTY metered spot. Another miracle, I had enough change with me to keep the car in the spot for three hours. I walked up the hill back to my office – not too bad of a walk – and sat there for a few minutes in the blessed a/c to think about what my next move should be.

Geico! Somewhere in the dark recesses of my addled brain I thought I remembered our policy covers towing and upon checking online, sure enough! A free hook-up and up to ten miles of towing which is fantastic since our house is seven miles from work. Brian was having a stupidly busy day, so I took the bull by the horns and made the arrangements to have Bessie pulled home and caught a ride with Jim, the nice tow truck guy. He entertained me with stories of when he used to repo cars and we were home in no time. He parked Bessie in the driveway for me, and there she sits for an indeterminable amount of time.

Because did I mention this was the same day we paid a mechanic $495 for replacing the truck’s brakes this past week? Because that happened.

It is to laugh. What else can you do, right?

Comments»

1. morethananelectrician - April 24, 2010

Good attitude…and some excellent parallel parking skills. We just paid of one of the vehicles and it is making a “funny” noise… I am glad the new company I work for gave me a car.

Kimmothy - April 26, 2010

I’m glad too; Brian has the use of a company vehicle so that makes this a little less painful.

2. Shari Sherman - April 24, 2010

That totally friggin sucks. I remember praying for green lights in my Celica, so I wouldn’t have to stop the car, because it just wasn’t going to come out of first after that. There isn’t much that can match the feeling of your car breaking down in traffic, except maybe having your car stuck in the sand at the beach, with high tide coming in. Been there, done that.

I am in awe of your ninja driving skills!

Kimmothy - April 26, 2010

I am in awe of your little black Honda that still runs after a million miles.

3. iamheatherjo - April 24, 2010

What’s that phrase? Fuck…fuck…fuckity…FUCK!

Yes. I believe that’s it.

Kimmothy - April 26, 2010

That pretty much covers it!

4. crisitunity - April 25, 2010

Poor Bessie. I’m so sorry. Sounds like the final breakdown at least went as smoothly as it possibly could.

Kimmothy - April 26, 2010

I think it did; I wasn’t stuck on the side of an interstate somewhere between here and Florida – it’s all relative.

5. Taoist Biker - April 26, 2010

A little birdie showed me the pictures of your car coming home via tow truck. I offered several frowning expletives.

I hate that it happened to you guys. But since it did, it’s a damn shame nobody video’ed your ninja u-turn skillz. ‘Cuz I would have LOVED to see that!


Leave a Reply

