jump to navigation

Guess Who’s Back April 10, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Whatever.
trackback

Wtf.

I have no idea how long it’s been, nor do I want to find out because then I’d realize just what a slacker I’ve been and who wants to deal with that kind of stress? Not me.
Have I been slacking though? Spending more time in real life than online? Hmm. I don’t know. All I know is I’ve missed writing, I’ve missed reading and I’ve missed everybody a lot, soooo…wait – is anybody out there? Hello?

Okay – blogging about blogging – super lame.

Here’s what I’ve been up to the last few weeks. Possibly also lame.

My friend Brandy, super cool graphic designer who started her own business this year, asked me to write for her for the real estate booklets her company does. How excited was I – very. My first paid writing gig! I wanted to frame my check and put it up on the wall, but duh – it’s money, so I deposited it into my bank account; I mean seriously. I may or may not have taken a picture of the check with my phone in line at the bank right before I put it in though. You know how I roll. But it was exciting! And fairly nerve-wracking, as of course I wanted to do a great job for them because I was so honored they wanted me to do it. A writing gig! Yes, I’m still excited even though the final revision was done a week ago. I can’t wait to see the final product and to start the new one.

Work. It’s been nutty and stupid and crazy. But that’s okay. It means I’m busy doing a job and I had a little revelation, crisis, whatever you want to call it, where I had a really shitty few days and started doubting the security of my job, our department and everything and thought maybe I should update my resume and prepare for the worst. Fatalistic thinking – always a good time. Like flashing back almost three years ago to when we first came back here and the hideous two months of job hunting and temp working before I got hired at the university. Thinking about how our state is I think in the top five highest unemployment places in the country – I think it’s somewhere above twelve percent? Then I spoke to someone there I trust very much, someone who’s been there fourteen years and who has seen many ups and downs and in one afternoon I started feeling better. It still doesn’t hurt to be prepared, but I got rid of that sick worry which was good.

We bought a laptop, which I’m using right now. And what was the most exciting part about that was that it was paid for out of the business account we have, which was a really good feeling. Our side work has been slow but steady and it’s about to pick up again with the warmer weather because obviously that means grass is growing again which will need to be mowed, shrubs need trimming, etc. Even with both of us working full time, the extra money from this has made all the difference. And I’m extremely thankful for it.

In a little over a month I’m flying down to Orlando to spend a few days with Sister, Brother-in-law and niece and good lord am I excited. We have some issues with Mother to take care of, things that should have been done a long time ago, but I’m so glad we’re going to get it done and in the meantime have some quality sister time together. It’s been far too long – October – and I’m dying to see my favorite funny little girl in the world. We’re also planning a trip to Disney which I’ve been really dying to do too.

Even though we got a freakish heat wave that was like a cruel joke from the weather gods who insist on annoying me every so often, we’re now back to beautiful Spring, keep the doors open all day, everything turning green and flowers blooming birds singing weather. The pollen this year has been ridiculous and I’ve tried a whole slew of medicines in desperation of trying to feel like I have a human head again, but apparently a Neti pot is my only hope, obi wan. I haven’t found one yet but I’m not giving up. I found out nose spray is not for me. Ever.

Okay, enough babbling. I’m doing very well and I hope you are too.

Comments»

1. Tiffany - April 10, 2010

Hey! It’s the real Slim Shady!

You know, the bank can send you the cancelled check and you can still frame it… 😀 Congrats on the writing gig!

May I ask, what kind of laptop did you buy? I’m thinking of getting one so that Big Brother doesn’t get mad at me for using my company laptop for all of my other stuff.

Kim - April 14, 2010

We got an hp notebook and love it so much I have to keep myself from licking it.

iamheatherjo - April 16, 2010

After dealing with my stupid Dell craptop and all the issues (and the class action lawsuit) for however long, I am SO in love with my HP. I’ve had it two years and I haven’t had a single problem with it. I’d buy another one in a heartbeat.

2. crisitunity - April 10, 2010

Glad you’re doing well. Congrats on the paid writing gig, and congrats even more on getting the check – the only story I’ve ever sold, I was never actually sent the check. :/

Kim - April 14, 2010

That’s crazy!

3. morethananelectrician - April 10, 2010

Hey! I think I remember you! 🙂

Kim - April 14, 2010

Well I hope so; you see me on fb every day!

4. Heather - April 10, 2010

Wait…YOU got to use the laptop? How did that happen?!?!?! Was Brian in the shower? Heee…

Kim - April 14, 2010

Actually he was off working – seriously.

5. Taoist Biker - April 12, 2010

Paid writing gigs! Holy crap!

Glad to hear from ya. Did you ever Go Crazy? 😀

Kim - April 14, 2010

The 80’s music is what’s making every day a treat. Heather sent me a bunch of cool stuff too – you guys are my music dealers and I’m completely addicted.

6. Shari Sherman - April 13, 2010

Yay!! Congrats on being a paid writer! I always knew you had it in you. And so glad to see you back, was getting a little worried about you. It is not like you not to write. Oh, and you can get neti pots at Walgreen’s. Have fun with that.

Kim - April 14, 2010

I know; I missed writing a lot – just kind of felt like I didn’t have anything to say. Not that that’s ever stopped me before!


Leave a Reply

