jump to navigation

Sunday Bullets January 31, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Books, Exercise, Fam Damily, Friends, Home Life, The Man, Weather, Whatever.
trackback
  • I feel like this month has flown by. Normally January is like August for me in that it drags, drags, DRAGS. Not this time – tomorrow is February!
  • I’ve been enjoying exercising again and reading and writing on the No Butts blog. If I could bottle that awesome adrenaline high that comes right after a good work-out, I’d be a very rich woman. Under obvious, see obvious.
  • I finished the massive Stephen King book in just under three weeks’ time. Brian put it well: Anytime a long novel reads like a short story, you have a good thing on your hands. I’d recommend it to any SK fan.
  • I’m doing well on my no-unnecessary-spending kick. It helps a lot that the last two weekends, prime money wasting time, have been so ugly weather-wise we haven’t really left the house. Avoiding Amazon helps too.
  • Good friends are coming up from Florida at the end of this week. One of them is staying at a mutual friend’s house a little ways up the road apiece from here and the other is staying here. This coincides nicely with Brian leaving for another business-related-excuse-for-out-of-town-shennanigans (just how many trade shows are in the landscape business anyway?) trip to Myrtle Beach. Girl time, you know what that means: pedicures and pillow fights. All the way.
  • Facebook continues to amuse and amaze me. Is it me, or do other people experience the weird phenomenon that people you thought you knew are really, really dumb. I went through and cleaned some people out this week. No offense, but if I didn’t like talking to you in real life I probably shouldn’t subject myself to your idiocy online either.
  • The male half of our redneck friends helped Brian throw sod in our front yard Friday afternoon. We took him home later that night, around 7pm. I was eager to see the wife, as I haven’t since before Christmas and have heard she’s been going through some rough times re: their relationship. I wasn’t cheered by the fact she was in her pajamas when we got there, especially when I remembered the last time we were there – during the day – she was also dressed for bed. This isn’t a good sign as to her state of mind. I’m planning on giving her a call in the next few days to talk to her uncensored and see how she is. It seems Mr. Redneck is feeling pretty dreary too. Brian said when they were working on the yard, out of the blue with no segue he said, I can help you for as long as you want, man. I don’t have anything to do tonight, tomorrow, next week, or the rest of my life. Brian told me later, What do you say to that? Uh…we’ll be finished around 4?
  • I’m continually flabbergasted by my office neighbors, especially the one who turns any subject, work-related or not, into an anecdote about her kids. I’ve decided to start a game with it. Starting tomorrow, anytime this happens, I’m going to do a shot make a little note. Then at the end of the week I’ll tally it up and see what the data looks like. Will this accomplish anything besides my own stupid amusement? No it will not. That’s never stopped me before though, and it adds fodder to my continued fascination with the human race.
  • My SIL gave me what I do believe could qualify as one of the top three haircuts of all time this week. I don’t know how, because we were especially chatty the whole time and she kept snip, snip, snipping away until I started getting nervous. But no – I wake up in the morning and don’t resemble the Bugs Bunny monster anymore. She’s getting married March 6th and I’m looking forward to it despite the family drama that has already begun. It’s an outdoor affair and I’m curious as to what the weather will be like. I’d normally have something planned to wear by now but considering it could be anywhere from 30 degrees to 70 that day, I’m waiting. Smart, right?
  • Not much else to report. Life is good.
Comments»

1. Heather - January 31, 2010

I’m sorry to hear about Mrs. Redneck. I know you worry about her a lot.

As for Facebook, I’ve found that some of my friends (I only add people I actually want to keep up with): a) can’t string a proper sentence to save their lives, b) are kinda racist, c) are way more religious than I’d remembered and/or d) sit on a different side of the fence on pretty much every single political issue than I. Oh and that some of them play way too many games (which I block) on there too.

Bugs Bunny monster? Gossamer? You look like this? Awesome! http://www.in-gender.com/cs/forums/storage/283/688098/Gossamer.gif

Kimmothy - February 1, 2010

The shape of that monster’s head? Yes, that was me.
Yes, yes, yes on the religious front! The thing that’s getting me most right now though are the people who ONLY update with a quote by some famous person. Are they trying to appear smart this way? By having absolutely no original thoughts of their own? Geesh.

2. Swistle - January 31, 2010

I have found the same thing about Facebook. It particularly surprises me when it’s former classmates I thought I wanted to be back in touch with, and then all their status updates are either idiotic or offensive or both. I love that you say “no offense, but” and then say you don’t want to talk to them and they’re idiots.

That couple does sound like they’re in trouble. I still laughed out loud at the dialog between the guys, and then my 11-year-old wanted to know what was so funny and I was like “The tragedy of life.”

I would also want to see how the coworker segued it. Like you should take notes such as “eating out —> what her kids won’t eat” or “hand lotion —> the lotion she used when her babies were born.”

Kimmothy - February 1, 2010

BRILLIANT idea for the co-worker – I’m doing it!

3. morethananelectrician - January 31, 2010

I was looking like tht Bugs Bunny monster for a while…now all my hair is gone. Maybe I’ll let it grow back again. The only people who like it better short is anyone over 50…and my wife.

I love seing the people I went to school with do dumb things on FB…it makes me feel better about my sad little life… 🙂

Kimmothy - February 1, 2010

Well I never looked at it that way; you’re right.
And I like your hair a lot better shorter!

4. Taoist Biker - February 1, 2010

I’m still trying to think up a comeback for “…the rest of my life” and failing utterly. It’s like the ultimate challenge and I keep whiffing. It’s far more frustrating that it has any right to be!

Kimmothy - February 1, 2010

That’s what happened to Brian too…I’m glad he came up with a punchline when he told it to me though, because it made me laugh very hard.


Leave a Reply

