jump to navigation

Bye Buy January 21, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Books, Home Life, Money, Shopping, Weather.
trackback

We had a bout of ridiculously beautiful weather for the last week or so (sunny, highs in the low 60’s) and it went a long way toward boosting my mood and lifting me out of what I’m guessing is a post-holiday funk. Today it’s back to cold and rainy but that’s not supposed to last and I’m okay with those days as well, as long as there aren’t too many of them in a row. As much as I profess to want to move to the Pacific NW someday, I seriously doubt I’d be good with their weather for very long. It’s been difficult to remain at work during the good weather stretch and I’ve tried to get outside and take as many walks during the day as I could get away with, which on some days was a lot.

Another thing I do to give myself a little lift quite often is buy something. It doesn’t have to be big; it can be as small as a bag of Cracker Jacks or a Cherry Coke. However, we are extremely close to meeting a big financial goal and the closer we get the more excited/anxious I am to pay off the debt. I’ve instituted a self-imposed shopping ban for myself for the next thirty days or so in order to meet the goal as soon as possible. (I’m actually embarrassed to say what the goal is but embarrassment has never stopped me from sharing before, so here it is: we’re finally paying off my ever-aging car, the poor sad Bessie. You may be saying to yourself, But isn’t that an old car, one that should’ve been paid off like two years ago? And my answer to that would be, Don’t ever take finanical advice from me because I’m really, really bad at it.)

Of course normal bills and things like groceries and gas will still be purchased. But once I decided this, which was only three days ago, it has already been dismaying to see how often I get the urge to poop out cash for completely or nearly-completely unnecessary items. Itching to get out of the office? Run to Target during my lunch hour under the guise of “picking up something for the house,” and come home with a new belt or cute new gloves. Standing in line at the grocery check-out? Why not grab the latest issue of Lucky to see what people luckier than me are buying. Feeling that late-afternoon blood sugar drop? Run down the street to the fun convenience store where they know me so well, they let me know when my favorite candy and soda is on sale. Can’t sleep in the middle of the night? Go to Amazon and/or Overstock and take a peek at what books, purses, jewelry, t-shirts, etc. might be on sale. Stop in to say hi to my sister-in-law at her hair salon and go next door to see what new hair product goodies or OPI nail polish might be on clearance.

Oh my God, I suck.

But! That’s all over with for the time being. I may feel the urges still, like any good addict would, but I guess the difference is having the bigger goal within reach. The light at the end of the proverbial tunnel is getting brighter all the time and I’m counting on it to blind me to instant gratification. I’m feeling good and strong.

Even though yesterday I found out the library’s bi-annual book sale is happening this coming Saturday.

God is laughing at me as we speak.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - January 21, 2010

Behaving yourself sucks. That’s all there is to it. I do it financially because, well, I have no choice. I, too, have a goal but it’s going to take a couple more years to attain. Your self-imposed shopping ban? I kinda live that way. I treat myself to coffee I don’t have to make for myself. That’s my treat/splurge thing. I love having you around to whine about this stuff with because I know you understand, but I HATE that it is even an issue for either one of us.

Kimmothy - January 21, 2010

Me too. I look forward to the day when things like coffee or a new book isn’t a LUXURY for us!

2. Taoist Biker - January 21, 2010

Not the library book sale!

The universe is hitting WAY BELOW THE BELT on that one.

Congrats on paying off the car! It’s a great feeling!

Kimmothy - January 21, 2010

I’ve found a loophole for the booksale – BRIAN! But he’s more dangerous than I am when it comes to the books, so we’ll have to tread VERY carefully.

3. Shari Sherman - January 23, 2010

Congrats on being close to paying off the car. What a great feeling. The best advice I can give about the book sale is set a limit and then avert your eyes and get out as quickly as possible! And don’t use any of these excuses to sabotage your goal: I’ve been so good so far, I deserve it. I’m helping the library and this is such as good price, I can’t pass it up, I’ll get this for so-and-so, so that doesn’t count for my limit (yes, it does).

Just keep thinking of how great it will be to NOT make that monthly payment! Whoo-hoo!

Kimmothy - January 24, 2010

I did good at the sale; Brian did *okay* but he needed some new reading material. I was proud of myself – 6 books that cost $7 and he paid for me!


Leave a Reply

