jump to navigation

Money, it’s a Gas January 10, 2010

Posted by Kimmothy in Bloggie Friends, Books, Money.
trackback

We’ve spent most of the first days of the new year hunkered down, as it’s been unusually cold and we’re southern wimps. I like it though; we make a big deal of gathering firewood and maintaining a fire as we all Snuggie together on the couch to read/watch TV – it’s like a license to hibernate, this weather. But the fact I’m actually looking forward to going to the inlaws’ today tells me I wouldn’t do well in a real cabin fever-ish situation; most likely I’d go the way of Jack at the Overlook Hotel after a few weeks.

Oh, speaking of Stephen King! I’m knee-deep in his newest 1,074 page opus Under the Dome and loving every minute of it. I was really scared after reading Cell (garbage) the man was hanging it up, but then he bounced back with Lisey’s Story and Duma Key and now this. I truly don’t know what I’ll do when there’s no more new stuff from him. I’ve told Heather that’s what I’m saving the Dark Tower series for, even though I believe her when she says that’s probably not how I want to go out. It’s too depressing to contemplate, as he’s been a such big part of my literary world since the age of twelve, when I snuck Salem’s Lot and ended up sleeping on the couch for a month in order to be near my parents’ bedroom because I knew logically I was too old to be in their bed. 

We’re kind of in that post-holiday, post-vacation poorhouse, so to have both the house and my car act up this week was a little frightening. Especially since there is some travel potential in my near future and I haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to swing it. Weetabix, one of my first blogging crushes, contacted me the other day to encourage me to attend Weetacon in Green Bay in early March. My happiness was short-lived and stunted by the fact the only thing it hinges on is money. Always money. I haven’t completely discounted it yet, but (insert whiny voice) when is it going to be that I can just say yes to something like that, without immediately doing calculations in my head: “Well, if I do this, don’t pay that, skip groceries for a month…” Stupid.

Because that’s the thing. If money wasn’t an issue I would travel, like a lot. Both to spend more time with the people I love and to go on adventures to new places I’ve never been. I realize that’s not original and a lot of people would do the same thing. Just thought I’d put it out there.

One exciting thing is that on February 1st, I’m eligible for an upgrade on my phone. Oh happy day. I think I’ve pretty much narrowed it down to two, though I’m going into a Sprint dealer sometime soon to actually hold and play with them, to see which one I like better. I made a hasty, stupid decision with this current piece of plastic poop and I’ve had to live with the suck for a year and a half. Never again. Just to make the point even more clear, at some point this week the back of it fell off leaving the battery exposed and making me the proud owner of the most ghetto-fied phone in the world.

So to recap: I think I need a new house, new car, new phone and some travel money. THAT’S NOT TOO MUCH TO ASK, RIGHT??? Does anyone know of anyplace hiring for part-time night work? I kid, but I’m starting to think that might not be a bad idea, at least for a few months. We’re closer than ever to being okay financially, but the closer we get the more impatient I get. We’ve been in the crapper so long it’s time to do whatever it takes to climb all the way out of it. I want this to be the year.

Getting up off my ass I think would be a good first step.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - January 10, 2010

I had that ghetto phone for a while, myself! There’s a funny (drunk) story about how I lost the back of it, but I had to deal with that phone with the battery taped in place for quite a while and I tell you I liked that stupid thing a lot better than the RAZR that replaced it. Sheesh. I am, as you know, in love with my Blackberry.

I hope you get to travel and that you don’t have to go without groceries to do it!

I went out this morning for coffee. It was reading 1 degree but it was -8 with the windchill and even though we are in no way, shape or form “snowed in”, the snow makes me very clausterphobic (even outside). I don’t know if there’s a name for it, but I get very edgy when it’s been a long time since I’ve seen the grass. I think you remember me going a little bit batshit by February or so last year. Hee! Oy.

Kimmothy - January 11, 2010

I’m looking at the LG “Rumor” because it looks like the best deal and a fun phone. We’ll see though; it has to be easy and fun to use – UNLIKE this piece of crap!
Yes, I think of you often when my weather is a little crappy to remind myself not to complain (too much).

2. crisitunity - January 10, 2010

“When is it going to be that I can just say yes to something like that, without immediately doing calculations in my head…?”

The answer to that is probably never. If I’ve learned anything from crawling out of poverty, it’s that as your salary expands, your life expands to thieve it away.

Not to be a downer or anything.

Kimmothy - January 11, 2010

Not a downer; it’s true – I doubt no matter how financially okay or not okay I am, I’ll always be a money worrier in my head.

3. Taoist Biker - January 11, 2010

Green Bay in March, eh?

Advice: Buy another Snuggie before you go! 😀

I hope you get to go. I look at my big trip to the MotoGP race and even though it’s a HUGE deal to me, I also think “Damn, that is a huge chunk of change we’ve blown the last few years that could be going to PAY bills instead of create MORE bills.” Le sigh.

When my long-lost filthy-rich great-great-aunt-twice-removed Hortense kicks the bucket, I’m setting up a grant agency to provide travel funds for broke-ass bloggers.

Kimmothy - January 11, 2010

Not to wish ill for Hortense or anything, but that sounds like a great plan to me!


Leave a Reply

