jump to navigation

It’s been real, it’s been fun, but it hasn’t been real fun December 31, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Celebrities, Experience, Holidays, Life, Travel, Vacation.
trackback

As the minutes tick tock toward the new year, we’re looking forward to a quiet evening tonight. It is exactly what I prefer for this particular holiday, especially since we’re heading home tomorrow and that drive dictates you be in top form or suffer the consequences. It’s been a great vacation, one I knew would go by way too quick, one where I wouldn’t get to spend as much time or even see everyone I wanted and one that is already starting to blur together in my head. No complaints though; it’s been a blast.

Most people I know are saying they are damn glad 2009 is over. Between the economy, losing a freakish amount of celebrities, political embarrassments and disappointments and personal crap, it has been a mighty challenging year for a lot of us. I don’t like wishing time away, but I am pretty stoked we’re about to start nice fresh clean calendars tomorrow.

Of course my personal quest to become a parent was what took up the majority of the first 3/4’s of it and I dealt with a lot of big disappointment because of it. But Brian and I were talking the other day (many consecutive hours together in a vehicle makes that easy) and he said one of the things he’s always admired about me is that instead of just bitching about a problem or giving up, I usually find a solution for it. Sometimes it may take me awhile, but if it’s important enough, I do it. That was one of the best compliments I’ve ever received from him or anyone else. And he’s right; if I want this as badly as I know I still do, I will find a way. Without reenacting a live version of Raising Arizona, I will find a way.

So, I’m not one of those resolution people, but I will say this. I do have some GOALS for this coming year. A few small ones and a couple of doozies. It’s intimidating, but without a challenge what is all this for, anyway? My worst fear is becoming complacent and stagnant, an object at rest. It’s up to no one else but me to make sure that never happens. I’m up for it.

See y’all on the flip.

Out with the old, in with the Jew!

Comments»

1. Swistle - December 31, 2009

Happy new year!

Kimmothy - January 2, 2010

To you too – you add a lot to my life.

2. iamheatherjo - January 1, 2010

Happy New Year, Kee-Yim! You already know that I always want for you to be granted all of your wishes and hopes, but the beginning of a new year seems like a good time for a refresher…and a reminder, I suppose.

I also hope you kids have a safe trip home. I’ve missed ya! 😀

Kimmothy - January 2, 2010

I missed the hell out of you while we were gone!

3. Whiskeymarie - January 1, 2010

I’m in the “good riddance to 2009” camp- it blew by in a second, and most of what I remember from the year is at best mediocre, at worst soul-crushing. I accomplished almost nothing (unless you count making it through another year alive), and I pretty much ignored my resolutions/goals from last year.
Ugh.
I’m ready for a fresh start, fresh challenges, and fresh successes. Here’s to us! (clinks glasses)

Kimmothy - January 2, 2010

Perfectly said, as always.


Leave a comment