jump to navigation

Sticks, Stones December 29, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Bloggie, Bloggie Friends.
trackback

It’s a sad state of affairs that you’re away from the internet for not even three days and you come back to find 800 emails, four of which you actually want to read. And then having one of  those be a nasty-gram from some stranger who came across your blog and decided it was his/her Number One goal in life to poop in your Cheerios.

I didn’t have any particular goal in mind when I wrote a little about my history with drug use a few days ago. I was doing what I always do – write whatever happens to be on my mind at that moment, try to remember to read over it to check for spelling or grammar errors and hit Publish. I was away from the computer most of the rest of that day and when I came home I was surprised as hell that a little over six hundred people had read that post. Then I thought, “That is freaking cool!” Then I thought, “Uh-oh.”

Blogging is a weird thing. I, along with many other people, reveal way too much about our personal lives (I realize many others choose not to do that, but I’m trying to make a point here) to a lot of strangers mainly because there’s now a really fun, convenient and attractive way to do so. I always picture a small group of my family, real-life friends and blog friends reading and that’s it. Of course that’s not it at all but I don’t spend a lot of time worrying about it, because then I’d probably stop doing it and I do enjoy it. But really, all it takes is for one demento to make you sit back and go, “Whoa, wait a minute.” I honestly don’t know how some of the famous bloggers deal with so much negative crap on a regular basis. I’m not saying my delicate flower sensibilities can’t take some heckling and I have experienced a negative comment or two before, but this was more anger than I’m used to dealing with:

“Way to go who are you to make light of drug use. In the middle of yet another tragic celebrity death you use it as an opportunity to promote your blog in hopes of hogging some of the attention for yourself and glorifying this. I wish you and people like you would Overdose on something, anything will do. You have no idea what a real drug problem is like anyways, you make me sick. It’s no wonder you can’t get pregnant, you abuse your body and this is what happens.”

Blah, name-calling, vague threatening tone, insults. Whatever. People who say “anyways” don’t deserve a rebuttal.

I realize by giving any attention to fuckery like that is the total thing not to do, but what can I say; I’m stupid sometimes. Stupid, but also wondering how much is too much with regard to sharing information. I’m the one who gave out my email address, but that certainly wasn’t the first time and I doubt it’ll be the last.

I personally am more drawn to blogs that give me little glimpses into the daily life of people I’ll probably never meet, that voyeuristic little thrill. And I feel close enough to a few of the people I’ve met through this that I’ve opened up to them as much as I would any other friend of mine, because I do consider them friends of mine. Is that wrong? It doesn’t feel like it. I like the fact that if I have something going on in my life that requires me to need some cheering up or support, there are actual people out there willing to give it to me. That’s pretty badass when you stop and think about it.

I am a serious oversharer, period. I will keep your secrets, but never my own. Be it bodily functions, skeletons in my cluttered closet, silly random thoughts that cross my mind, whatever. I guess it’s part of what makes me so gosh-darn ME. I don’t see it changing that much either, so hopefully the good will always outweigh the idiocy.

In other news, the vacation is going really well. And really quickly.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - December 29, 2009

Ugh. That’s just stinky. I don’t like it, I don’t like it one bit.

However, I would suggest setting up an e-mail account just for your blog stuff. Keep it totally separate. I don’t publish my e-mail on mine. I figure if someone wants to contact me, they can leave me a comment. Those blogs that I leave comments on, well, they have my address (the one I want them to have) if they want it.

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

Very good idea.

2. Swistle - December 29, 2009

Oh, I’m so sorry someone sent you that awful, awful email. The pregnancy thing made my eyes fill with tears, it was so mean and so unfair and so untrue.

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

Thank you; that was the only part that got to me too.

3. Whiskeymarie - December 29, 2009

I like to think that Karma will bite this person in the ass for their shitty, shitty comment.
Try some compassion and understanding for once, instead of dropping ignorant hate bombs in people’s e-mail. Kim is so obviously not the one who needs to work on his/her issues.

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

I don’t understand people who get off on that stuff. Like, *that’s* what you choose to do with your spare time??

4. Kristin D - December 29, 2009

I obviously need to go kick some fucker’s ass. I get more indignant when someone insults you than me. And I LOVE when people judge other’s issues and problems versus another’s. Like your drug problem wasn’t anything like my drug problem. If you’re not suckin dick for crack you haven’t been there. Besides we all know you and I love our pretend celebrity friends more than our real friends most of the time anyway. I love how ruthless strangers are when their opinion differs from yours and that you not only don’t deserve to be a mother for mistakes you’ve made but apparently you should also be dead. It’s people like that that discourage my blogging.

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

Why it’s so good having a sister. One who has kicked my ass and would kick any other person’s ass for me.

5. Jean - December 30, 2009

People can be so stupid. I quit reading blogs if they dont’ share enough. I want some angst and dirt to compare against my own, you know?

Screw whomever it was that wrote that. Bareback. In the rear. Whilst snorting some nitro, possibly on E.

Or not. I’m just saying.

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

With no lube!

6. crisitunity - December 30, 2009

What Swistle said. So untrue and so unfair and so wrong-headed. The whole point of life is to interpret what arrives through your own experience!

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

I agree.

7. Shari Sherman - December 31, 2009

First of all….that is freaking AWESOME!!! 600 readers. You know you rock and getting it out there has been your ONLY roadblock. The reason you have this many readers is because of your honesty, regardless of whomever agrees or disagrees, approves or disapproves. Not that I’m a famous blogger, but being an artist has sharpened my toolbox of dealing with negative criticism and the main thing to remember is IT IS ALWAYS ABOUT THEM AND NOT YOU! There is some underlying reason they feel the need to harangue you and it has nothing to do with you. This person probably has a fetish with Britney. There is obviously something wrong with someone who wishes someone else dead. That is a really big deal and no doubt a contributing factor to the shitty lives they are living that prompt them to spew on your blog. F*** them and keep on blazing your trail!! Oh, and you may wonder how to tell negative criticism from positive criticism…positive criticism, although it can sting a bit, is always something that will further you on your path, the negative shit just brings you down. I also recommend that you delete your personal email from that post, and only give out gmail for comments. That way you can decide when you want to cozy up to the good, the bad, and the ugly. Here’s to an awesome new year filled with all the possibilities a daring, edgy writer could want!

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

Thank you, Shari. And yes; I’m deleting my email right after this.

8. Tiffany - December 31, 2009

Unfortunately it’s a rampant attitude among blog readers that just because they READ you, means they KNOW you. Which is obviously not the case. In THIS case, to call the person “obtuse” is polite in the extreme. And to hope that someone dies of an overdose, while simultaneously saying that your drug use caused your inability to get pregnant (as if you’re an addict who has a needle stuck in her arm EVEN AS YOU READ THIS)… well, now, who’s looking for attention NOW, bitch? (Or, bastard.) I never did understand commenters (or e-mailers) who want to spread negativity. They just come across as… well, reactionary and stupid. IMHO. YOU ARE LOVED, Kee-yim!!!

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

I could never imagine writing something like that to someone I don’t even know. Or someone I do know, for that matter.

9. Taoist Biker - December 31, 2009

+1 to the above. Fuck the haters with the Razor-Barbed Buttplug of Agony. If you need somebody to hold ’em down while you do so, well, you know where to find me.

Seriously (not that I wasn’t partially serious, but) Shari is right. It’s about them – not you. Griefers exist, their only joy is to cause distress to others, and they are legion. You just drew enough attention with this post that you got hit. Consider it nothing more than getting splashed by a car when you’re walking down the sidewalk on a rainy day. Bad luck, bad timing, keep walkin’.

You’re awesome, we love ya, and I hope you’re enjoying your vacation!

Kimmothy - December 31, 2009

Thank you sir; your support is much appreciated!

10. LL Cool Joe - January 4, 2010

I love your blog because you are so open. That coment about the pregnancy made me sick with anger. I may not agree with everything you write, hell I often don’t agree with what I write, but you are spouting your words of wisdom in a preachy way, to me you are just expressing your feelings on the subject.

When I read your views on drugs I immediately thought about a new blog I’ve grown to love http://brokenheartedmom.blogspot.com/ This puts a very, very different perspective to your views, which you may find interesting too.

11. LL Cool Joe - January 4, 2010

I meant NOT spouting! Geez, great typo. 😀


Leave a Reply

