jump to navigation

Underdressed at the Flea Market December 6, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Clothes, Experience, Friends, Life.
trackback

Earlier this week my friend Brandy asked if I wanted to join her and a few other people to sell some stuff at the flea market yesterday. I jumped at the chance, not because I thought I’d make a lot of money (which was good thinking) or because our house is once again bursting-at-the-seams loaded down with crap, but because as a Certified People Watcher, I luuuurve the flea market.

Where on earth (besides maybe NYC) can you see a better cross-section of humanity in such a small area? Nowhere, I think. And it’s not the leathered up bikers, NASCAR t-shirt rednecks or Christmas sweatered old ladies that are the real visual treat, although none of them were in short supply. No, it’s the women who dress as if they’re waiting in a roped-off line to get into a dress-to-impress club I love with all my heart.

One of them was a woman who came by our table and briefly glanced at all of our stuff. She was on her cell the whole time, talking loudly, sometimes in another language (Brandy said at one point, “Is that even real German because it didn’t sound like it – Poopoo-vek-blitzen?”) and generally giving the impression she was a very busy and important lady. Great haircut, puffy white vest/jacket thing, beret and a lot of  jewelry. I think I saw her on a ski slope once. I was sad I couldn’t leave our post to follow her around the rest of the morning.

Another was actually one the people selling with us, the daughter of another lady we were with. Britney, aged 25. There is no other name more perfectly suited for her, as she is tall, blonde, perfectly made up – very pretty. She was wearing knee-high stilletto boots, tight expensive looking jeans, a tight gold turtleneck sweater belted with a wide leather belt and a leopard print scarf. (I warned Brian he should come with me, but did he listen, no.) I’m not being mean here, because she really seemed like a sweet girl and Brandy confirmed this. She also confirmed that she never leaves her house not looking like this, which didn’t surprise me at all.

I like dressing nice, when my hair cooperates and how my eyes look after some liner and mascara. I’ve fully subscribed to the connection between looking good and feeling more confident. But I can’t visualize any scenerio (Minus knowing Kid Rock might make an appearance) where I put that kind of effort into selling crap at a small town southern semi-rural flea market on a drizzly cold Saturday morning. I thought I’d done well to have on clean, weather-appropriate clothes and matching socks.

Sister and I once talked about how there are women who fall into the always-put-together category and how we’ll never make it into that club no matter how hard we try. Some of our friends effortlessly have that magical, elusive crisp-and-pressed factor. They have shiny bobbed hair, tailored clothes and clean cars. We, on the other hand, may leave the house feeling perfectly good about our appearance, only to discover later a stain, a rip, a run, and hair that somehow escaped all the product used to tame it. We decided the best we can ever hope for is “appropriate.”  

Either way I had a lot of fun yesterday and before we left we talked about the possibility of doing it again this coming weekend. If Brian and Brandy’s husband agree to join us, there are some larger items I’d love to purge out of this house and the four of us always have a great time hanging out. Plus that way, I might be able to leave my post to follow some woman around, and maybe finally learn the secret to looking your best is to always look your best, even on a Saturday morning at the Barnyard Flea Market.

Comments»

1. crisitunity - December 6, 2009

I could never, ever look my best all the time. I also don’t know how those women do it, but I went to high school with a passel of them and my self-esteem never really recovered.

Although I try to feel better about it by looking at it as a matter of priorities rather than inherent talent. I think of exactly how much of a pain in the ass it is to get up an hour earlier every day just to do your hair and makeup. Fuck THAT shit, I’d rather sleep.

Kimmothy - December 7, 2009

When I lived a mile away from my office in FL, I had to be at work at 8:00 and sometimes I literally didn’t get up until 7:30. I’d rather sleep too.

Taoist Biker - December 7, 2009

I was just sure you’d point out that carload of people we passed as we left Churchill Downs who were all dressed up.

Hey, I went to Virginia, where we wore ties or (and?) Laura Ashley dresses to football games. Some people’s is crazy.

crisitunity - December 7, 2009

Ag, I forgot about those people. Seriously, why bother?

2. iamheatherjo - December 6, 2009

I was around a bunch of GUYS that were over-dressed for the establishment we were patronizing last night. It was crazy. It was a good reminder though how much I don’t like the whole suit-and-tie thing.

I’m with you. I’d rather be comfy. 😀

3. Kimmothy - December 7, 2009

Overdressed guys??? I guess I’ve lived with Brian too long to even understand the concept of that! But yes, life’s too short not to be comfortable.

4. blahblahblah - December 11, 2009

appropriate-schmopriate.

5. Brookie - January 11, 2010

(Stumbled upon your blog from another person’s blog)

Oh, the Barnyard. I never leave without being entertained! If it’s not the free puppies, knife vendors, that one shop where you can get a psychic reading, or the fear that on your way in you might get shot in the midst of some gang warfare courtesy of The Grove, then it’s DEFINITELY the patrons. And all of their screaming children.

The Metro down the street provides ample entertainment as well. =]

I’m pretty sure we’re some form of “neighbors”- the Gamecock and Barnyard references are undeniable. I’m from a suburb often referred to as “Rednecksington”. Nice to meet you!

Kimmothy - January 11, 2010

Nice to meet you too – I hope you’re not an actual Gamecock *fan* or else you had a pretty disappointing year, just like my husband!


Leave a Reply

