jump to navigation

Trippin’ October 23, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Friends, Travel, Vacation, Weather.
trackback

I’ve been annoying the shit out of myself, trying to find the time and patience to put together a picture post of last weekend’s camping extravaganza and now here it is already a week later. Time flies when you spend your spare time trying to catch up on sleep. Then I figured it’s stupid to wait on the pictures when no one is really that into them anyway and if they are there’s always Flickr. Not that I’ve gotten them up there yet either, but get off my ass, okay? I tend to forget other people aren’t quite as fascinated with Fall foliage as I am, because (A) they live where the leaves also turn, or (B) they just don’t give a crap. For me though, yes. As soon as we got to the top of that one hill on I-26 West where you can see the first of the Blue Ridge Parkway, my cold black little heart started beating a little faster and I immediately knew whatever happened over the course of the next two days, it would all be worth making this trip. Mountains do it for me.

And it’s a good thing I had that attitude, because there were a couple of challenges that were somewhat difficult to deal with. I knew it was going to be cold. I didn’t know by Saturday evening it would be so cold I’d literally be wearing EVERYTHING I PACKED. Oh yeah. At one point I started doing jumping jacks, simply because I couldn’t figure out any other way to get warm. That works, by the way. What I was mostly concerned with was sleeping, because God knows, do not get in the way of my precious sleep. And actually that worked out okay the first night – the $2 Coleman handwarmers were very effective shoved in various parts of our under-most layer of clothing – next time I’ll just know to buy more than four of them so I’ll be able to duct tape them all over myself.

No, the main problem came from the fact that at various times throughout the weekend it would get cloudy and drizzly and once I get that cold damp feeling, I find it mostly impossible to function normally. Then I made the biggest mistake ever by climbing in the van “just for a few minutes” with Joan to get warmed up. I did not climb back out of the van until the following morning, not really worring too much about my husband’s possible death-by-frostbite alone in the tent. I did check on him first thing to make sure he was breathing – I’m not that mean.

But Joan. Poor little Joan. She was already starting not to feel that great on the drive up there. By the next morning she was officially and very obviously sick. I felt horrible for her, but she remained a trooper the entire weekend – way more of a champ than I would’ve been. Turns out she now has bronchitis coupled with the flu, so yeah. I feel extremely lucky I came away from it with a stuffy nose and some congestion. She and I agreed next year should we choose to do it again (which I wouldn’t mind doing at all, it was that much fun), we will be staying in a cabin. When I told my cousin Scott about it he said, “Yeah, no kidding, Kim. I was going to warn you Jews don’t camp in tents.”

But, all in all – so much fun. The food tasted awesome like it always does in the outdoors. The food we brought, plus the best cappucino, spinach & mushroom pizza and homemade lemonade ever. The music was awesome, even with standing in the rain to hear some Cowboy Junkies. There was a tent that had nothing but Celtic music all weekend long and we couldn’t walk past it without stopping to listen. Even though our anniversary was supposed to have an aluminum or tin gift, Brian got me an awesome necklace made from recycled glass. We laughed a lot together and I realized like I always do we have a lot of fun whenever we’re someplace different, exploring and away from the daily grind. I mean, who doesn’t – but still. We don’t have a lot of opportunity to do that and I’m thankful we managed to do it for this.

The trip home was cool too – Brian napped, Joan worked on trying to remain amongst the living and Delorme and I had a great conversation in which pretty much every sentence began with, “Remember that time when…” which are always fun to have when you’ve known the other person practically twenty years. Not fun for the people who weren’t there, but luckily they’re both pretty patient about listening to old stories.

And now I’m getting ready to get ready to leave for Florida next week. Two trips in two weeks isn’t my idea of sane planning, but that’s the way it worked out this time and I’m not bitching. A little tired, but not bitching.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - October 23, 2009

I was really worried about the cold and that it would rain and that your tent would leak and…and…and…

I’m so happy that you had fun and I would LOVE to see that necklace!

Kimmothy - October 24, 2009

I did take a picture of it!! Will work on uploading to Flickr, I promise.

2. Taoist Biker - October 23, 2009

Heheh. I like that you waited until morning to check on Brian. I thought he was supposed to be your personal space heater for this trip; I figure you would have dragged him into the van with you. I’m 98% sure that’s what Dys would have done…

Glad you had fun!

Kimmothy - October 24, 2009

Sadly his heat could not even come close to competing with the beautiful heat that was coming out of that van.

3. morethananelectrician - October 24, 2009

There is NO WAY this family would survive out in weather like that. Hayden and I would be alright…but not my wife. She thinks she wants to do something like that, but I am not buying it one bit. Good for you two…did he like his aluminum downspout? 🙂

Kimmothy - October 25, 2009

He got an aluminum hat instead. Which I need to take a picture of, thanks for the reminder!

4. Joan - October 24, 2009

I’m disappointed that the mini marshmallow’s weren’t mentioned! Good times!!

Kimmothy - October 25, 2009

DAMMIT! That’s what happens when I wait too long to post – my brain isn’t what it used to be which wasn’t very much to begin with.

5. iamheatherjo - October 25, 2009

You closed your comments on your new entry! I…I…I just don’t know what to do! 😉

6. Karen - October 26, 2009

Sounds like a pretty great trip, Kim. Been there with the whole “hand warmers in my pants” / “fire hugging” bit. My husband and I camp twice a year in the White Mountains where there’s foliage of every hue. I take so many pictures that no one ever sees. I’d love to check out your pictures, you know, as a fellow leaf-peeper. (I just typed “leaf-peeper.) I hate that term. As a New Englander it conjurs images of lines of invading station wagon armies, packed to capacity with picnic basket launchers, cheese log torpedoes, screaming dirty germ warfare kid faces and John Denver heavy on the rotating eight tracks for torturing the captives. Actually, John Denver was pretty OK. My Grandma really liked him. But, you know what I mean.
So, you got to see the Cowboy Junkies? Right ON, even if you were in the rain! Music makes it all better, huh?


Leave a Reply

