jump to navigation

Roughin’ it October 13, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Foodies, Friends, Travel, Weather.
trackback

By my estimation it’s been about four years since I’ve slept in a tent. And it was that last trip that reinforced my tent-camping philosophy which basically states no camping in the state of Florida between the months of March and November unless you are in a motorhome and even then just don’t. In fact, since 95% of my camping experience has been in a motorhome, each time I’ve pitched a tent it’s been a new and educational experience. This weekend we’ll be  tenting it in the mountains of North Carolina, where by all weather accounts it’s going to be fairly nipply in the daytime (mid 50’s), downright frozen-snot cold at night (low 30’s) and today I see the new development that on Sunday there’s the possibility of snow flurries.

Now, you may or may not remember, but I am a crazyhead when it comes to snow. I pray for it every year and the one or two days we actually get some, I spend most of my time outside in it taking pictures and trying to urge it to stick and pile up a little. However, I’ve never camped in it so if the ever-changing forecast is accurate I hope it does actually wait until Sunday when we’re breaking camp and getting ready to come home. I’d love to see it; I just don’t want to sleep in it. I mean, my God. I’m still Floridian enough so that when the temp drops below 70 I’m reaching for my socks and hoodie.

I’m slowly but steadily getting through my to-do list. We’re splitting the food responsibilities and my part includes dinner on Friday night (chili – spicy for the boys, wimpy for the girls), some lunch stuff, snacks and coffee. I’ve basically got most of the stuff already, but I’m making one last shopping trip tomorrow to get the rest. Here’s my question (and Joan, if you’re reading feel free to chime in since you’re going to be one of the people eating it): If you were going on a three-day camping trip, what would you enjoy eating in the great outdoors? I know whenever I’m outside for extended periods of time I like to graze a lot. And I figure as long as I cover the four basic snack rules – salt, sugar, cheese and chocolate (the Hershey bars for the S’mores don’t count), I’ll be safe.

Other little thoughts:

– I LOVE drinking coffee outside on cold mornings.

– In addition to the regular warm clothes I’m bringing, a hat, gloves and thick socks to go under my hiking boots are coming as well. As long as my head, hands and feet are warm I can pretty much withstand anything.

– I’m going to be thankful Brian turns into a human heat rock when we sleep.

– According to some of the stuff I’ve read, it looks like the leaves are already putting on a pretty good show up there. Eeep!

– This will be my third experience camping at a music/arts festival type thing and based on the past experiences, I know I’m going to love it. I can’t wait until Friday!

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - October 13, 2009

Burgers were always my favorite camping food. But it was always summertime when I went – I’ve never done a cool-weather camping trip. With that in mind, maybe some kind of soup or stew or something? I hereby offer my family recipe.

Move to the upper Midwest for a year. Snow still looks purdy, and it’s still fun to play in, but my obsession is cured for life.

Kim - October 13, 2009

I just came back from reading the recipe and my mouth is literally watering! I’m doing chili for Friday night’s din-din and they’re doing steaks for Saturday night, but these ingredients are going on next week’s grocery list so I can make that stew NEXT weekend! Mmmm, stewwww (said in Homer Simpson voice)

2. iamheatherjo - October 13, 2009

I have never really camped, but when we go to the state parks for the day and stuff I rarely bring chocolate (gasp!). I tend to choose stuff that comes in bags that re-seal. That’s how I choose my snacks. Hahaha!

And jerky. I have to have jerky.

Kim - October 13, 2009

Funny, Brian had planned to make deer jerky for this trip, but he’d also planned to have killed the deer to make it by now, so we’re going to have to make do with store-bought beef jerky because I feel it’s a necessity too!

3. morethananelectrician - October 13, 2009

Sleeping in a tent seems cool…until morning. And trying s*x in a tent is difficult unless you are alone…

Kim - October 13, 2009

The last time we camped up there we did it in broad daylight against a big rock. But that’s when we were young and brave, a very long time ago. These days I’m more concerned with making sure I get a good night’s sleep.

Taoist Biker - October 15, 2009

You mean “alone with her” or “ALONE alone?” 😀

4. LL Cool Joe - October 15, 2009

I’ve done my share of camping. Yeah i know that’s hard to believe! But I’ve never camped in the snow. Sounds like it will be friggin freezing, but a hell of a lot of fun!

Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

