jump to navigation

Ten years…and a few days October 12, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Marriage.
trackback

I really wanted to post this  the other day, considering Friday was the day of our actual anniversary. Stupid work and chores – always getting in the way of the important stuff.

A decade is a long time, so I was curious to see the state of things as they were the month and year we got married – October, 1999. Some interesting stuff came up:

– Bill Clinton was just finishing up his time of getting blown in the Oval office.

– “Higher” by Creed was number one. I still love that song.

– Fight Club and Being John Malcovich were released. We saw Fight Club in the theater shortly after we got married  and it blew us away with its awesomeness. Brian’s seen Malcovich and really liked it but I never have.

– Britney Spears was on the cover of the Rolling Stone, the Rolling Stone, the cover of the…dammit – now I’ll have that in my head the rest of the day.

– The Mets beat the Diamondbacks in Game 4 of what almost became a Subway Series, but then that didn’t happen until the following year. And then the Yankees beat them, dammit.

– Global Warming was still being called the “Greenhouse Effect” – hee!

– And the most important thing: Kim & Brian got married. Here is where I’d like to ask you to pretend I’ve uploaded the picture of the Holiday Inn sign where my awesome cousin had the hotel put “Kim & Brian are getting married” on the sign for us. It truly was an amazingly fun time. A couple of other random shots from the day:

WeddingThat’s four-year-old Elizabeth, my flower girl, dancing with us to “Cowboy” by Kid Rock. A particularly favorite moment for me. And the top picture is one of about five thousand we took standing on his dad’s dock surrounded by our friends and family. The leaves hadn’t changed yet like I’d wanted them to and the sky was overcast that day, but everyone who was there tells me they had a pretty gol-darned good time. So did we.

So now we’re heading into our next decade as an old married couple. I can only hope the next one is as full of fun, joy, laughter and adventure as the first one was. Maybe with just a little more disposable income.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - October 12, 2009

Woohoo and congratulations! 🙂

2. Ken Kendall - October 12, 2009

That is awesome. I knew there were still some people who valued marriage in America.

I write a blog about marriage and how men can better love their wives. I hope you and your husband will check it out when you have a chance.

http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

Thanks,

Kimmothy - October 13, 2009

I will, thanks!

3. Heather - October 12, 2009

Happy Anniversary!

But…Creed? ::shivers:: 😉

4. morethananelectrician - October 12, 2009

Congratulations!!!!!

5. Swistle - October 12, 2009

Happy anniversary! Awwww, Greenhouse Effect! So cute!

6. Shari - October 13, 2009

Happy, happy! It was an awesome day!

7. LL Cool Joe - October 15, 2009

Damn I always show up to the party late!! Happy Anniversary to you both!


Leave a Reply

