jump to navigation

Whine & Cheese October 8, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Baby-Making.
trackback

I realized something the other day. In the past year, the year we tried the hardest and failed the most spectacularly to get pregnant, I’ve known eight women, personally known mind you, who have gotten pregnant and/or had babies. That’s a riot, isn’t it?

One of them tried for two months and was successful; she’s due a week before Christmas.

One of them had been married longer than I have and they’ve tried and tried with many problems but finally this year after a minor procedure and some fertility help were able to do it. Baby Destiny is six weeks old.

One of them wasn’t even technically divorced yet from her ex-husband and had only been with her current man a few months when it happened for them. Their daughter was born a few weeks ago.

One, a very sweet co-worker. Well, it was a downright miracle they achieved pregnancy; even the doctor told them so, as her husband had some medical issues and she never ovulated regularly and the length of her ovulation was so short they’d already given up on it and had started looking into adoption possibilities. She cried with me one day in my office and told me God would see to a miracle for me just like He did for her. Baby Regan was born last week.

One, a very sweet ex co-worker. They already have three young girls and two other kids they inherited because of a family tragedy and are very young and very overwhelmed and weren’t necessarily trying, but went to Vegas one weekend and had a good enough time so that now they’re almost three months along and praying for a boy.

Two of them are cousins of Elizabeth, the kid I’m closest to in the world and part of a family who likes to start breeding young and continue breeding often. Both of them are due in a few months, I think within a few weeks of each other.

I also have a good friend who is getting married next month and becoming a stepmom to a beautiful three-year-old boy. This friend wanted to be a mother as badly as I did and spent a long time waiting for the right man whom she finally found last year and I’m so happy for her. But now she too will join the ranks of momhood, leaving me behind, kinda back here alone in the dust. The barren, stupid dust.

Okay, it’s out of my system now; just thought I’d purge it.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - October 8, 2009

Hey, I’m always ready to hear ANYbody bitch. As long as it’s on the internet and not in person, huh?

I get likewise grumpy whenever I see somebody ride by on a motorcycle…particularly some 20yo jackhole in a tank top and shorts wheelieing through traffic, etc. And I have no societal assumptions placed on me for my lack of a motorcycle. 😦

Phah. Life sucks sometimes. Let’s hug it out, dammit!

Kimmothy - October 8, 2009

Yes, Ari has good advice with that – I accept long distance hugs; thank you!

2. iamheatherjo - October 8, 2009

Look at all the babies you can spoil and babysit/borrow right now!! AND you still get to go and do what you want to do when you want to do it for the time being. I know it’s very little consolation, but it’s better than no consolation at all. I’m just trying to find that bright side everyone is always talking about.

You always have hugs from me, too.

Kimmothy - October 8, 2009

And I’m lucky to have them from you!

3. Swistle - October 8, 2009

Oh, sure, sweet co-worker. We all know God is absolutely FAIR AND EVEN-HANDED with teh babies. It is RISK-FREE to make promises on his behalf.

Kimmothy - October 9, 2009

I know; I felt like saying “I’m holding you to this.”

4. crisitunity - October 9, 2009

😦

5. Shari - October 9, 2009

Sometimes life does suck…and what the frig are we supposed to learn from that??!! Endurance? Strength? Faith? Trust? What we need are more lessons in lightness of being and moments of Happy. Here’s wishing you more of those starting today!

Kimmothy - October 9, 2009

Thank you; I didn’t mean to post such a pouty post – I am very happy today on our ten year anniversary.

6. LL Cool Joe - October 10, 2009

I don’t know what to say, but you did, as ever. Life does suck, and sometimes it just seems so damn unfair. Never give up on your dreams, it’s not too late.

Hugs from me too. (((((hugs))))

Kimmothy - October 11, 2009

Thank you Joe!

7. Laura - October 11, 2009

Hugs, sweetie. We love ya!!!


Leave a Reply

