jump to navigation

Ten Words September 26, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Lists, Meme, Whatever.
trackback

Thought-provoking as usual, Cool Joe gave us the opportunity for him to pick out some words for us to write about and these are the ones he chose for me. Great ones, in my opinion. Plus it fits quite nicely in with the fact that my last few posts have been nothing but lists.

Freedom – Something that as an American I’ve taken for granted all my life. Until recently. And now I fear greatly that little by little it’s being taken away from us, in increments so small as to hardly be noticeable. But I’m noticing. And trying to decide what I want to do about it because bitching alone is not effective. We forget that our original goal as a country was not to fight for freedom from our enemies, but from our own government. Plus it’s a kick-ass song by George Michael.

Childhood – I think mine was as close to idyllic as one can be. I was well loved, well provided for and secure in the knowledge of both of these things at all times. Many, many happy memories. Lucky.

Baby – Wow, Joe, good one. Up until this past year, something that was in the back of my mind most of my adult life. Then, great hope. Then hope lost. Now it seems like something not really attainable for me and somehow I have to find a way to find a way to make my life meaningful without one. The loss is right on the surface, raw and extremely painful some days.

Words – I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love them. The opposite of how I’ve always felt about numbers. When strung together the right way, they have the power to cause me to burst into hysterical laughter or else into immediate throat-choking tears. Sometimes both.

Life – Is short but also wide.

Hobby – Creative play is as important to me as work is in order to keep a nice balance I think. I’ve enjoyed a few in my lifetime and lately have been feeling the need to find a new one to put some time and energy into.

Someday – I’d like to look back on my life and have as few regrets as possible, so I’m trying to live with that in mind.

Passion – I wish it wasn’t the first casualty in relationships, but with some effort I believe can be resuscitated. And I believe it’s worth it to try. Without it, life would be awfully dull and sad.

Image – The older I get, the more forgiving I am of this for myself and how mine is viewed by others. I wish so much importance wasn’t placed on it, but I believe it’s something that always has been and always will be.

Husband – The first word that popped into my head when I thought of mine was “kindness.” I feel very lucky to be married to someone who not only loves me, but also likes and respects me. In a few weeks he’ll have been my husband for ten years and that fact amazes me on many different levels.

Thanks, Joe – I hope I did your words some justice!

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - September 27, 2009

YAY!! Well done, Kee-Yim! I’m pretty fond of your words too. 😀

Kim - September 27, 2009

That was harder than I thought it would be – I actually had to, you know, THINK and stuff.

2. LL Cool Joe - September 27, 2009

Wow, what a great set of responses to the words. Thank you so much for doing them. What I love about the way you write Kim is that as you say about words, you have the ability to be so funny one minute, and yet bring a lump to my throat the next.

As for the baby..never give up. As LL Cool J says “Dreams and goals don’t have deadlines.” When we went through the adoption process the social workers would only consider couples when they had completely given up the idea of having a baby naturally. Maybe you are reaching that stage? We have two beautiful adopted daughters because we never gave up. 🙂

Check out Robbie Williams version of “Freedom” some time. It rocks.

Kimmothy - September 29, 2009

*Sniff* – thank you for that.

3. Taoist Biker - September 28, 2009

Awesome. I liked the “Life” answer best – that would make a good motto!! 😀

Kimmothy - September 29, 2009

It’s one of my favorite quotes from Carrie Fisher!


Leave a Reply

