jump to navigation

Autumnal September 23, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Lists.
trackback

The air smelling like how it used to smell before school in the mornings.

The sound and feel of crunching acorns under my shoe.

The eyeball-searingly bright Carolina blue sky.

The appearance of the first couple of red leaves on my Dogwood.

Nightly fireplace fires.

How spastic the dog gets while we gather sticks for the nightly fires. Also how he sniffs the air because he agrees with me on how damn good it smells.

The smell the heater makes the first time we turn it on.

Getting to wear hoodies, sweaters, slippers and socks every day. Sometimes boots.

Not having to keep up the pedicure anymore.

Or the leg-shaving.

Coming home to whatever awesomeness I’ve let bubble in the Crockpot all day.

Lizard’s Thicket’s vegetable soup (something I’ve tried to recreate in the Crockpot yet never have) and cornbread.

Halloween decorations and candy in every store. My annual bag of Brach’s candy corn.

When the Gamecocks make their entrance onto the field amidst the big puff of smoke and opening strains of 2001. “We may not always win the game but we always win the tailgate.”

How cute Brian looks in his flannel jacket and my “NYC” ski hat.

The Harvest Moon, both the song and the event.

Coffee and the Sunday paper on the front porch.

That even though I know it’s actually almost the end of another year, it always feels like it could also be a new beginning.

Comments»

1. Shari - September 23, 2009

This post makes me long for some crispy weather. We are still in the mush here, but there definitely has been a change. I like to joke in the evenings that there is a “chill” in the air, because it is probably 2 degrees cooler. And some leaves are already happily falling. Fall definitely feels like a new beginning this year. I guess the Jews had it right with Rosh Hashanah. Do you remember that Harvest Moon is our wedding song? 11 years ago last weekend, Tim and I were dancing on that quiet dock under the moonlight.

Kimmothy - September 23, 2009

I’m so mad that I’ve been more asleep than awake lately because I DID remember your anniversary yet didn’t even have the strength to pop on the computer and say Happy!!
And your wedding was so kickass – I’ll never forget it!

2. Grace - September 23, 2009

I love your lists. It’s not the poem that I ordered, but it will work for now…

Kimmothy - September 23, 2009

That’s good since I’m barely forming coherent sentences right now.

3. Taoist Biker - September 23, 2009

Dang it, now I’m gonna have “Harvest Moon” in my head for the next couple of hours.

Could be worse.

Still in the 80s here today, but 70s are coming soon, and I’m quite excited. Fall to me always smells like bourbon & Coke at a football game…

Kimmothy - September 24, 2009

Another great smell brought to us by Fall!!

4. iamheatherjo - September 23, 2009

When I hear Harvest Moon in my head it is always sung by the three mean ghosts from Casper. If you haven’t seen the movie, you have no idea what I’m talking about, but that’s not the point. 🙂

I’m dragging my Halloween decorations out this weekend (I have the traditional door hanging up already, I just couldn’t wait). EEEE!

Kimmothy - September 24, 2009

Then I shall drag mine out this weekend too. Never too early!!
And I guess I haven’t seen the movie, because that’s not ringing a bell.

5. morethananelectrician - September 23, 2009

I am always afraid the house is going to burn down when the heater kicks on for the first time and the dust burns off of the coils. I go straight to the attic with a fire extinguisher.

Kimmothy - September 24, 2009

That thought has crossed my mind, but I just love the smell anyway!

6. iamheatherjo - September 24, 2009

I don’t look forward to the heater coming on just because that means I have to shut my windows and I LOVE my windows being open. I feel so clausterphobic when I have to shut the house up for winter. 😦

Oh…and I still shave my legs. I can’t sleep with myself if I don’t! (I can only imagine what my friend would think! LoL)

Kimmothy - September 24, 2009

George bolted the windows of our house shut before we moved in and no one has fixed them yet – I HATE IT. This is primetime open window season!
And about the legs – if you wait long enough, the hair gets nice and soft again…haha!

7. LL Cool Joe - September 24, 2009

Hey I got your words Kim, but am I allowed to tell you off first??

Also how many words do you want? 5 or 10?

Kimmothy - September 24, 2009

Sure – I would like ten please!
And tell me off? I’m scared now…

8. LL Cool Joe - September 24, 2009

I just found the expression “spastic the dog” a bit offensive! But hey I’m sure I write offensive stuff too, so I’ll shut up.

Your 10 words!

Freedom

Childhood

Baby

Words

Life

Hobby

Someday

Passion

Image

Husband

Kim - September 26, 2009

GREAT WORDS! I’m excited to write about them now. I am a bit surprised that out of all the offensive stuff I’ve written, saying my dog acts spastic is the one that got you, but I apologize for it!


Leave a Reply

