jump to navigation

Down with the Sickness September 21, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Health, Work.
trackback

Every year this day finds me joyous, jubilent even – celebrating the last day of my least favorite season and the beginning of my favorite. This year, not so much. The biggest thing I’m celebrating today is the fact I’ve almost been awake longer than I’ve been asleep and that the rotten metal taste has almost left the inside of my mouth.

Holy crusty snotballs, I don’t remember the last time I was this sick. It’s funny how you never forget the suckiness but somehow you do forget the HIGH LEVEL of suckitude. This is when you (and by you I mean me) start to make deals with God, “I promise I’ll do better with the vitamin intake and stop counting corn as a vegetable. Just please, PLEASE get this taste out of my mouth and let all this shitty medicine start working.”

I know for a fact I was running a fairly high fever, thanks to my hi-tech, tells-you-when-you’re-ovulating digital thermometer – at one point it was over 102, but that was also in the middle of the night when I was buried under the winter comforter in pajamas and a sweatshirt. Still though. Last night I got to be awake for the exact moment when the fever broke, that beautiful pouring of sweat until you’re clammy and corpselike (can you tell I’ve been reading Stephen King?) so I’m not all the way human yet, but I can tell just by the fact I’m sitting here typing I’m well on my way back. Thank you God. Although at last check my temp was 97.5 – what the hell? Oh who cares; after days of 100 plus, I’ll take it.

The good part about this (besides the four easy pounds I lost) is for awhile now I won’t take feeling NORMAL for granted. Normal is GOOD, normal is fucking GREAT.

And I know it’s never a convenient time in our very busy and important lives to come down with something, but this was particularly shitty timing as far as work goes. I’m in the middle of a really training-heavy month, not to mention they’ve upped the terror level to P for Paranoid regarding the piggy flu. In fact, my boss was pretty bitchy this morning when she barged into my office, demanding to know what I was doing there being so sick. I calmly explained to her I was only there to do the very necessary work and then I was leaving, but also that I was trying to be considerate to everyone else by staying only in MY office, the one she just ramrodded her way into – which made her slowly back the fuck out, which was the plan. Close-talker not wanting to be so close NOW, huh?

I’m over her for reals right now. Not only for this, but a bunch of butt trifling shit that’s not even worth getting into. Just don’t be surprised when I soon start talking about other potential positions within the university. Two years of “being thankful to have a job” and “putting up with fill-in-the-blank” is enough. I still have dreams about my old job, the one I had before we moved back up here – I want to be that happy at work again. All the things I loved about working at the college are still available; I think they’re just located in a different department than the one I’m currently in. And if it’s in my power to do so, well then damn skippy, Ima do something. Make hay while the sun shines, that’s what Pa Ingalls always said.

Okay, maybe the fever isn’t quite out of my system yet.

Comments»

1. LL Cool Joe - September 21, 2009

Bummer Kim! I’ve been ill too, and as soon you begin to feel slightly better it’s like you feel so damn grateful to be alive!

Glad you are feeling a bit better now!

2. Heather - September 21, 2009

I hope you feel better soon, honey! Get some good rest and if you feel the fever delusions coming on…e-mail me something funny! 😀

3. Shari - September 22, 2009

Hope you feel better! I can’t believe you went in to work. A sure way to keep people away is to don a surgical mask. I’m thinking I might start wearing one all the time just so I won’t have to deal with John Q.P….either that or cutting up my bras and wearing a cup over my face like the people in China. That’ll do it, I think. A small price to pace for sanity.

4. Upright « The Taoist Biker - September 23, 2009

[…] rumors that I sent Kim’s husband a cd full of death metal to distract him while we exchanged viruses via tonsil-hockey et cetera.  No truth, I tell […]


Leave a Reply

