jump to navigation

To Fangirl or Not To Fangirl September 17, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Books, Celebrities.
trackback

#259Dear Books-A-Million,

I can’t express how excited I was when I found out one of my favorite writers ever was coming to one of your Columbia stores for a book signing this Saturday. For the last few days I’ve been checking around to see where I’d get the best deal on the new book since money’s a little tight and also because it’s getting less than stellar reviews. Of course I own all of his books and so this one would be no different, but it’s hard out there for a Jew and I get most of my book action from Amazon, bartering or the library these days.

I was also gleefully trying to decide which one of his others I’d bring from my personal collection to have him sign since the lady employee I spoke with on the phone told me he will sign up to two books. The cook book/autobiography one for my mom that would thrill her to no end? Beach Music? My copy of Prince of Tides since that’ll always be my favorite? Decisions!

It wasn’t very easy sneaking away from work today during this, what has turned out to be the biggest asspain of a week ever and drive the twenty-two miles across town to pick up my number I need to secure my place in line Saturday morning, but I did it; I mean, getting books signed by the author to someone like me is like bucket list material, you know? I was all excited to get my number, number 259. It brought me back to the Harry Potter midnight book buying parties and how much I used to love thos.

And then I read the guidelines.

I have to buy the new book and any of his old ones I want his signature on at one of YOUR stores and show my receipt as proof? At YOUR prices, which are consistently the highest of all the book store chains around?

You know what, Books-A-Mil? Screw you. After looking forward to this all damn week, now I don’t know what, if anything, I’m going to do about this. And I suck at decision making.

I’ll see you in Hell.

Kim

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - September 17, 2009

Bastards. All of them.

It sucks that the authors even have to agree to those terms to get the book tour shit going.

Kimmothy - September 18, 2009

And it’s not like this guy is new to the game. He should be able to call the shots! Sadly I know that’s not how it works.

2. Laura - September 17, 2009

Whoa. THAT warm-fuzzy sure did take a left turn at Albequerque!

Kimmothy - September 18, 2009

Sorry; I should’ve posted a disclaimer – “Am in the middle of Princess Time; proceed with caution.”

3. iamheatherjo - September 17, 2009

I’ve never been to a book (or cd) signing yet that you didn’t have to buy the material there and I don’t remember ever being able to bring an old one in either. :/

I was irritated with that “rule” when I PRE-ORDERED a book from Henry Rollins’ own publishing company and then he did a signing at Borders and guess what? They expected me to take my own book out to my car and RE-BUY the book from them just to stand in line.

Same thing happened to me at Virgin Megastore when Rob Zombie’s first solo cd came out and he made a signing appearance. That actually turned out okay…two copies of that cd in our house ended up being a very good idea.

Kimmothy - September 18, 2009

Well, I’ve never been to a book signing, period, so I didn’t know what to expect at all. I totally understand buying the NEW book there; I mean, he is there to promote it. But having to re-buy a book I already own? Not gonna do it.

4. crisitunity - September 17, 2009

Boooooooooo.

Kimmothy - September 18, 2009

Hissssssss.

5. Shari - September 18, 2009

That sucks! There’s always the good old standby of waiting by the backdoor when he leaves and bumrushing him there out on the public asphalt….or maybe they own that too.

On the other hand, what is the difference in price? Because you LUUURRRVVE Pat Conroy, your whole family loves him, and especially your dad loved him too.

And finally, is he going to be at one of the other bookstores in the near future? Maybe you can catch him at a better (cheaper) bookstore.

PS: I despise BAM! Even before this incident. I love all bookstores, but I don’t take any pleasure in walking in theirs. Something about it just bugs me…their prices, their stupid “discount system”. Borders is my Fave.

Kimmothy - September 18, 2009

I KNOW!!! Borders’ discount card is FREE, Barnes & Noble’s you do have to pay for but it’s a one-time charge, but BAM? No, their memberships EXPIRE, so every year or two you have to buy a new one. They have a horrible selection compared to the other stores too.
Hate.

6. Shari - September 18, 2009

Yes, I will bring out my hate for them.

7. Whiskeymarie - September 21, 2009

I’m embarrassed to say that the only book I’ve ever had signed was when I was 19- Clive Barker. But at least he was willing to sign whatever the hell you wanted him to sign. One girl brought a shovel. No, I don’t get it either.

Kim - September 21, 2009

Clive Barker is a cool one to have!!


Leave a Reply

