jump to navigation

Carolina on My Mind September 3, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Uncategorized.
trackback

00finlay park

I’ve been lucky enough to chat a little bit with Heather this week and one of the many varied subjects we covered (I know I’ve found one of My Own when we can go from Kevin Smith to dogs to food with equal love) was loving/hating where you live. Which coincided with my favorite season’s early arrival this year, thus making my heart full-to-burstin’ with love for this place. I walk around the campus or my neighborhood and feel almost giddy. It was love at first sight when I first came to visit here Thanksgiving weekend 1991 and then six years later when we pulled away in our U-haul Florida bound, I tearfully vowed I would return someday. It may have taken another nine damn years, but by-god I made it back.

What was weird is at times it seemed like I wanted it worse than Brian did and he’s the one with all the people here; mine are in Florida and New York. He’d never lived anywhere but here before we moved down there but he took to Florida quickly and well. Which I suppose was a good thing; it would’ve been hard if he decided he hated it after we got down there. But I think we became a little too complacent after awhile (it happens) and although we always talked about coming back here (especially after a Christmas trip or week during the Summer), it took a lot longer than I would’ve liked to make it happen. Granted, moving to a different state ranks pretty high up there on the ass-pain scale – having to wait that four hour window for the cable guy alone is enough to drive you nutballs. But it’s so, so worth it to be in the place you feel like you belong. And since I first experienced life here as a wee little twenty-something, I could have written the South Carolina is Fabulous brochure for the state tourisim department. Were my loved ones ever to come live here, I don’t think I could actually handle that because it would be perfection.

Strange, coming from a native New Yorker who spent her youth vowing she’d return to the Big Apple to live when she grew up.

Another thing we discussed, something we’ve talked about many times, is the idea of meeting somewhere in the middle of our respective hometowns. After some quick detective work, Heather determined Knoxville looks like the spot. Knoxville, Tennesee – hell yeah! My memories of Tennessee all contain beautiful, picturesque scenery, Nashville and the Jack Daniels distillery and from what we saw on the same site we were both looking at (at the same time without knowing it!), it looks like we wouldn’t lack for fun things to do. Heather would take my meeting an online friend in real life virginity and I can think of no one I’d rather do it with. I promise you though, I won’t put the moves on you. Just keep the tequila away from me and we’ll be fine.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - September 3, 2009

Ah, the online friend virginity. *sigh* Those were the days. πŸ˜€

Knoxville is really a beautiful area. But (and surely you don’t need to be told this) check UT’s home football schedule before you plan a trip!

Kimmothy - September 3, 2009

Yes, it would be interesting if Heather and I ended up like you and Dys did!
I thought of football since it’s utmost in my mind right now – and you’re right, that could turn into a nightmare if we’re not careful!

Taoist Biker - September 3, 2009

Well, I wasn’t suggesting that you guys were gonna stock up on tequila and AA batteries or anything. I just meant that it was a long time ago for me, and I’ve met a good handful of online friends by now (including this past weekend).

I had others take my online-friend-virginity before she took my online-friend-virginitiy ifyaknowwhatI’msayin’. πŸ˜‰

2. Laura - September 3, 2009

“But it’s so, so worth it to be in the place you feel like you belong.”

Color me jealous.

Football. SIGH, looks like the Cards shook off whatever ailment they had last year that took them to the Superbowl – they’re back to their losing ways. Familiar territory. And, DAMMIT BRADY, can’t you go for ONE SECOND without getting injured??? :: fume ::

Kimmothy - September 3, 2009

Yes, we also mentioned you and Maine and how it’ll be great if and when you ever make it back!

Gah, football-induced stress is about to become commonplace I’m afraid. Don’t feel bad, I always have to root for losers. Er, *the UNDERDOGS*

3. iamheatherjo - September 3, 2009

WHAT?!?!? You’re not putting out?!?!?!? Hee!

Taoist Biker - September 3, 2009

She just said she wouldn’t put the moves on you. I didn’t see her say she wouldn’t be receptive to moves being put on her.

*troublemaker hat firmly ON* πŸ˜€

Kimmothy - September 4, 2009

Very astute observation sir! I’m not the dominant type is all I was saying!! πŸ™‚

Taoist Biker - September 4, 2009

Well, see, there you go. Now that’s out there, and so now Heather knows what to pack.


Leave a Reply

