jump to navigation

See ya on the flip August 7, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Writing.
trackback

Considering our computer died a horrible, untimely death the other day, I’m about to find out what it’s like to spend an Internet-free weekend this weekend. The thought has me trembling with fear, hot and cold sweats have overtaken me and I’m not sure life is worth living anymore.

Okay, that was an exaggeration. Sort of. I need to make a trip to the library tomorrow to pay my $1.40 in fines and pick up a book they have on hold for me, so I’m guessing I’ll probably make a short little pitstop at the computers to check in and make sure I haven’t missed out on anything too important. It’s funny – when I was gone for a week, I barely got online at all and didn’t really miss it. But being home and not online just feels sick and wrong.

The following are some thoughts I’m quickly going to spew out before it’s time for me to leave the office for the day, so excuse any typo’s or nonsensical weirdness.

Brian thinks he did well on his test yesterday, which means he’ll soon have his spray license back, which means a pretty substantial raise for him at work. I’m happy for him; it’s nice to actually get compensated for your knowledge on something you paid a college to teach you. Also, he found out today he has to come treat the stadium here for fire ants on Tuesday and he could not be happier about any job assignment ever. I’m sure he’ll be shitting his pants walking around on the field his beloved Gamecocks will soon be losing playing on.

His brother had surgery for his prostate cancer this week; we’re hoping the guy is feeling better and will get to go home this weekend. Semi scary stuff.

I’m going to put on my big-girl panties this weekend and call my mom. I’m thinking the conversation is not going to go well and unfortunately I no longer prepare for uncomfortable situations by self-medicating (dammit, that’s so inconvenient sometimes), so it should be a blast. But I’m going to be honest and if she can’t accept that, it’s not really my problem anymore. I don’t want to hurt her, but I’m not going to let her get away with her passive-aggressive crap on me anymore either. I think this is what the therapist would refer to as “progress.”

Things that aren’t fun to do in the south in August:

  • Lay in a tanning bed for 20 minutes then walk out to your black car that’s parked in an unshaded black-topped parking lot.
  • Cook anything in the oven.
  • Try to transport chocolate.
  • Exercise in the great outdoors (unless you’re swimming which I’m not).
  • Leave the house without remembering to grab your sunglasses.
  • Do yardwork.
  • Get a decent night’s sleep with the correct room temperature and blanket thickness accuracy.

We had plans to play golf again this weekend, but cancelled them because the thought of being out on a golf course for four hours in this weather is slightly less attractive than slicing my wrists open.

This is the time of year when I starting humming the tune to Wake Me Up When September Ends.

Have a bloody cool weekend blokes!

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - August 7, 2009

Ummm…are you going to call your mom BEFORE you go to the library to pay your fines, pick up your book and check your e-mail? Because some of us (okay, ME) might want details!!

Things are supposed to heat up for us this weekend as well. Just in time for Amy to come in. She was looking forward to the cooler weather we’ve been having and now it’s turning on her! Poor thing!

Kimmothy - August 9, 2009

That sounds like something that will happen when I go up to finally visit you. Which is why it’ll be in December!! Or February. Well, pretty much anything but August!

2. Shari - August 7, 2009

I wanted to make sure you had some mail to read whilst at the library because it sucks to check (especially when not at home) and nothing is there.

Eleanor Roosevelt said, “Do one thing every day that scares you.” There is a movement on the blogosphere called Be Brave based on this. It sucks, but just take a deep breath and do it. You will feel great afterwards, no matter what she says. The stuff she tries to put on you is HER stuff, not yours.

I can deal with the heat pretty well. I am one of those strange souls that doesn’t really mind it. But I friggin’ lose my mind if I leave the house without the sunglasses. Then I’m just out squinting like a mole so my retinas don’t get fried.

Kimmothy - August 9, 2009

I’ve always been a freak about sunglasses too, then my mom had to have cataract surgery and the doctor told her the number one reason for cataracts is not wearing sunglasses. Now if I forget to bring them, I buy new ones. I have a nice little collection building.

3. morethananelectrician - August 7, 2009

He should catch the fire ants and let them loose in the vistor section on November 14th…He might be able to get Mr and Mrs Tebow in the stands.

Kimmothy - August 9, 2009

Now why didn’t I think of that???

4. LL Cool Joe - August 9, 2009

Blimey I’ve finally made it on your blog!! I’m away in Phoenix at the moment so I know all about hot! Man it’s hot.

You cracked me up with your big girl panties! šŸ˜€

I’ve missed you!!

Kimmothy - August 10, 2009

I’ve missed you too!!

5. Kristin D - August 10, 2009

Gosh I wish you would’ve answered your phone
phone yesterday! Why do I always know when
something is up? I hope that addled-brained
bitch didn’t upset you.

Kimmothy - August 10, 2009

I didn’t even know you called until this morning!


Leave a Reply

