jump to navigation

Country Roads Take Me Home August 3, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Experience, Fam Damily, Friends, Travel, Vacation.
trackback

This is one of those times I’d usually do a picture post, where I’d post eight or ten pictures with pithy, witty captions explaining the highlights of my vacation. Which I’d really love to do but can’t since I somehow FORGOT MY FUCKING CAMERA. And before you ask, yes it was on my list and no I didn’t check the list one last time before I left. I am so awesome sometimes. While other people of course had their cameras and pictures were taken, I’m now at the mercy of them sending them to me, which sucks.

Besides that, I had an amazing time. I spent A LOT of time on the road, which normally I wouldn’t mind, but poor old Bessie ain’t what she used to be, which was never much to begin with, and I think her days of long distance traveling might soon be over unless she has some major work done. As it was, 150 miles into my trip the first day the serpentine belt broke and I spent an hour and a half at a gas station in Richmond Hill, Georgia waiting while a very nice mechanic named Chris went and picked up a new belt for me, started to install it, realized the auto parts store had given him the wrong size, went BACK to the store to get the correct size and successfully put in that one all for forty bucks but I actually gave him sixty because I was so thankful to be rescued so quickly. Reason number 548 why I no longer drive alone at night. In daylight, that was just a small inconvenient delay in my trip; in darkness I would’ve been crying like a little bitch the whole time.

My trip was like a three-act play. Act One was Tampa and my family. With my uncle laid up in the hospital it was a little bit of a dramatic and emotional time but I got to spend a couple of days with all of my favorite cousins and that’s always a complete treat for me. Act Two was eighty miles north in my hometown, spending time with my best friend and would-be daughter. In a very short amount of time we were able to fit in boating (I rode on a big scary tube for the first time), two shopping trips, Harry Potter and a lot of eating. Then I drove for what seemed like days up to Columbus, Georgia, which is actually very close to the Alabama state line, and spent a couple of days with my brother-in-law, Sister and Mini-Sister who now calls me Aunt Sistee. That little girl might possibly be the most lovable kid on earth.

It was a fun trip. I missed my boys a lot though and we were both so excited about me coming home, we talked on the phone eight times my last day away. It was very good to see them again after what seemed like a month. I’d like to say it’s that exciting to be back at work, but I don’t like to lie.

I know one thing – I’m not ever waiting that long to see the people I love anymore. That was stupid.

Comments»

1. crisitunity - August 3, 2009

Sounds like a good trip. Did you see your mom?

Kimmothy - August 3, 2009

Nope.

crisitunity - August 3, 2009

Wise.

Taoist Biker - August 3, 2009

+1

2. morethananelectrician - August 3, 2009

The belt thing was a pain in the ass I am sure…I might grab some extra parts and tools to carry with me on my trip. Unlike you…I am still going to wait along time before i go back to visit them. Crap is already starting and almost no family knows I am coming.

Kimmothy - August 3, 2009

Brian always carries extra parts and tools. I think I’m making that my new goal.
I do not regret not seeing my mom. Like, at all.

3. Taoist Biker - August 3, 2009

No pictures? Nope. I don’t believe you actually went on vacation.

😉

And I also believe in driving in the daytime. Srsly. With the exception of the heat, night makes all the sucky stuff more suckish than ever.

Kimmothy - August 3, 2009

The heat did suck a little bit, as I figured out my stupid car gets MUCH better gas milage without the a/c running. But I’d still rather drive during the day. Easier to stay awake too.
Pictures forthcoming!

4. iamheatherjo - August 3, 2009

Welcome home!!! I missed you!!

Do they not make disposable digital cameras in your neck of the woods? 😉

Kimmothy - August 3, 2009

Nope!
But seriously, everybody else took a lot of pictures and the tards assured me I’d have them sent to me immediately. So far only one cousin has delivered, so I guess it’s time to crawl on a bunch of asses!

Grace - August 4, 2009

ummm…so now I’m a tard? Just because I can’t find my stupid camera cord and download these damn pictures! I promise to send pics of you on the tube as soon as I find my cord. The pictures are way too priceless not to share with the world!

Kimmothy - August 4, 2009

You can’t find your cord and you’re asking if you’re a tard. Hmmm…
Haha!
Dammit, the world must see how beautiful I looked while riding on that tube!


Leave a Reply

