jump to navigation

Short-timer’s Disease July 22, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Fam Damily, The Man, Vacation, Work.
trackback

As I’ve briefly made mention on my other internet places, I really, REALLY, could use a couple of days off just to get ready to take more days off. Funny how that always happens. While at work, all I’m thinking about is all the shit I need to get done outside of work and when I’m not at work I’m worrying about getting all the crap I need to get off my desk before leaving. It’s irritating. Not to mention I’m completely wiped out every night and falling into a drooling sleep on the couch isn’t really conducive to knocking stuff off the to-do list, YET I’m wide-ass awake at 5:30 a.m. One might suggest maybe using that time to get things done, but one might not understand I don’t do my best cognitive thinking at that time of day. And one can mind their own damn business anyway.

Randomness:

I don’t think my boss means to be a bosshole, but damn does she ever get nervous when one of us takes leave. She came to see me yesterday to ask me to make sure I meet with one of the other girls so as to have “coverage” while I’m gone. Just to reiterate, my job is almost completely autonomous, I rarely get phone calls and we training coordinators all have our own trainings we cover and don’t deal with each other’s at all. Also, we don’t perform any life saving duties here, so any “emergency” that may arise while I’m gone doesn’t qualify as an emergency. But I assured her I’ll make sure to have COVERAGE. Over my empty office and non-ringing phone.

I still haven’t made up my mind whether I’m going to see my mom while I’m down there. Every time I try to picture it, a sinister, bubbling feeling starts happening in my stomach and I have to run-not-walk to the bathroom. I think I’ve finally found the cure for my constipation issues.

I’m going to miss my boys while I’m gone. I don’t really worry about Brian too much, as he’s proven capable of keeping both himself and the dog alive for days on end without me, but still. I know he’ll feed them both, but it will be at odd times. I’m sure he’ll stay up too late, drink too much beer, probably sleep on the couch with lights and TV on all night. It’s possible he’ll be late for work a couple of times. I always tell him to clean up after the hooker-and-blow parties so I don’t have to walk into any thongs on the floor, but I’m sure the house will still be in some state of disarray when I get back. It’s okay though; I understand the guy still has a 23-year-old bachelor living inside him and when I’m not around the bachelor escapes his husband-shell.

Conundrum: Should one wash her car knowing she’s headed straight to the land of Daily Afternoon Thunderstorms? Yeah, probably. Dammit.

It took a lot of thought and careful planning, but I think I’ve managed to plan it all out so that I’ll get to spend some time with each person I want to see in Florida. The only thing I’m sort of nervous about is my uncle’s surgery. He’s having it tomorrow so Friday I’m driving straight to the hospital, first stop. I’m pretty sure my aunt and cousins will already be there, but I get wiggy when a loved one is in the hospital. Another case of if I think about it too much I’ll have to run to the potty. Though he’s been hospitalized in the last few years and I’ve visited him, so I know he’s very amusing while on the morphine drip. I always ask him to share.

So starting Friday things will get crazy, but never you fear – I’d go into dt’s, withdrawls, the shimmy-shakes if I were to stay away from the computer for more than a day so I’m quite sure I’ll be updating fairly regularly while I’m gone.

I can feel your relief from here!

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - July 22, 2009

There’s always texting!! 😀

I’m going to channel you for just one second when I say…

“Take lots of pictures!!!!!”

Kimmothy - July 22, 2009

As long as I don’t get desperate and conjur the internet with my phone, I’ll be okay. I did that last year at the beach and it turned out to be very expensive!

2. Taoist Biker - July 22, 2009

Duh. We 23-year-old-bachelors-in-husband-bodies know better. We stuff the thongs into the empty cases of beer.

HELL no, I wouldn’t bother to wash my damned car. Not on a rainy road trip. Wash it when you get back!

Kimmothy - July 22, 2009

Yes, he’s gotten his hiding skills down to a science; I never find any evidence! 🙂
You’re right. I’m going to vacuum out all the dirt, leaves and dog hair and call it a day.

iamheatherjo - July 22, 2009

You’ll need to give her a bath when you get home anyway to get all the bugs off of her. 😀

3. LL Cool Joe - July 22, 2009

Kim, I love the way you write.

Have a safe and enjoyable trip!

Kimmothy - July 22, 2009

Thank you and thank you!!

4. morethananelectrician - July 22, 2009

Word of my “secret trip” home has spread and is now causing me angst. You’ll know what is the right thing to do about visiting her…there is no simple answer to that.

Kimmothy - July 23, 2009

I’m nervous about your trip for you. And mine.

5. wellwornroad - July 29, 2009

haha! i’m exactly the same way – only i need like a freakin’ MONTH to get ready for a trip.

i hope you’re having a wonderful time. i hope you’re safe. i LOVE the new blog layout. (yep… just NOW getting around to catching up on the last month and a half of reading-of-blogs that i’ve missed out on.)

i miss you (you know, like email and shit) bunches. i’ll be attempting to write you one of those things in the upcoming days, but it’s been so long i’m overwhelmed as far as where to start 🙂

i added you to the new blog’s blogroll, because i think i’m going to be sticking around there for a while and give poor little buoy a rest. besides, wordpress (as we both know!) is FAR superior!

xoxoxo
-d

Kimmothy - August 4, 2009

EEEE – so happy to hear from you!!!


Leave a Reply

