jump to navigation

Funtastic Weekender July 20, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Baptists, Foodies, Friends, Home Life, Weather.
trackback

You ever have one of those weekends that is just perfect with the exact right ratio of activity and relaxation? The kind that when Sunday night rolls around you get the sads because it’s over already and then when Monday morning gets here you wish you could punch it in the face? That’s me.

My semi-dreaded lunch with the preggie friend was really nice, of course, and my fears of awkwardness were completely unfounded. I will say I had a minute of pure freak-out when I first saw her, trying to force myself to not look down at her little belly. She’s a straight up bean pole, I’m sure she started showing the day after they conceived, and there certainly was a little roundness where normally she’s practically inverted. I started thinking, “Fuck, what if she chickens out and decides not to tell me!?” But then right after we were seated she told me she had a couple of presents for me and one of them was a framed picture of the little bean in utero. I thought that was a very cute thing to do and we both teared up immediately and the rest of the lunch was great. I’m so glad it’s over, if only that I can go back to being normal with her. She is a good friend and I’m glad my issues didn’t ruin something.

I took advantage of being on that side of town and after lunch dropped off a hee-YOOGE bag of unfortunate clothes to the Goodwill. And then resisted buying more – go, Kimmy!

After a quick trip to the tanning bed (Florida sun, you are NOT going to get me this time, you bastard – I finally have the protective powers of the base tan!), I got home and had just enough time to get ready for our golf outing.

I’ll get this out of the way first. We could not have picked a better day in the middle of a Carolina summer to be outside and on a golf course. The perfect mix of warm but with a perfect breeze and almost no humidity – oh my God. August, did you hear that? I’m not asking for everything, just go easy on the damn humidity! It makes everything so much more pleasant this way. And I couldn’t believe it but toward the end of the day when the sun was going down, I actually started getting a little chill! It was FREAKING AWESOME.

After our friends met us there and we secured our two carts, we started out. As soon as we got to the first tee, I realized we’d been there before and asked Brian if this was one of the courses we’d played when my parents had come to visit over ten years ago and he said it was. It’s hard to explain, but since my dad was a golf (teaching) pro and I grew up around golf and golf courses, being on one makes me feel so close to him in a way that is almost never possible for me now that he’s gone. Sister says it upsets her and I can see that because all I have to do is see a golf club to feel a little pang of hurt, but I just can’t help but to feel happy too. Maybe I should start playing more often. And this golf course was green and hilly and surrounded by what seemed like an enchanted forest all around it, for real. We had a great time riding around watching the boys play and they had a good time as well. Brian’s not the type to get pissy if he hits a bad shot, knowing the last time he played was last Labor Day.

We ended up eating dinner with them too, at the same restaurant I’d eaten lunch at, but it was sort of my idea. You know when you go out with another couple who you know pretty well but you haven’t eaten together that much so you don’t know all their likes and dislikes yet? I highly suggest picking a place like Ruby Tuesdays (which is what I did), Applebees or the like, so someone  can get red meat, someone else can get chicken, fish, salad, whatever. Variety is the key. A Public Service Announcement from Kim T. Obvious.

Yesterday was Brian’s birthday and it was also Sunday, which meant a trip to the inlaws’ and not only Sunday “dinner” but also a cake and presents, which was nice. Sometimes though they are more weird than usual and yesterday was one of those times. I’m not really sure if it’s the Lupus or the medication she’s on for it, but his mother has started doing this thing where she interrupts whomever is talking with something that has nothing to do with what the other person is talking about. It’s highly annoying but I try to be understanding. Now George – I don’t know what his excuse is. I mentioned I’m going to Florida Friday and he said, “Oh, you’re going to Florida again?” Again? Again as in since last October? Why yes, yes I am. Like Brian said later, “You and your crazy yearly trips to Florida.” I mean, wha? Whatever though. They mean well.

I ended the weekend by doing some shopping and chores, knocking some shit off the to-do list and cleaning out my trash heap vehicle to get it ready to be packed and then falling into a tired but happy sleep on the couch around 9:00.

And though I don’t want to complain since I only have three more days of work then ten days of no-work, I really did  hate to see this weekend end. It was one of the best ones I’ve had in awhile. I hope everybody else’s was just as great.

Comments»

1. Taoist Biker - July 20, 2009

Purdy good on this end! Except for grounding the boy, even though it made things somewhat more peaceful in some ways. Less Spongebob and all that.

Shari - July 20, 2009

But this weekend was the Spongebob Sponge Bash culiminating in 10, count ’em 10 NEW episodes. How many times did you hear the commercial????

Kimmothy - July 20, 2009

I’m glad you guys had a good one too!

2. Shari - July 20, 2009

I am so happy you had a great weekend, and the South Carolina breeze and evening chill makes me veddy, veddy jealous! Your dad was GREAT, and I’m glad you got to feel close to him at the course. I”m sure he’ll be watching over you on the drive down as well.

Kimmothy - July 20, 2009

I think he watches over me a lot. Which could be considered good AND bad, depending on what I’m doing at the time!

3. crisitunity - July 20, 2009

I’m so glad things went well with your friend, also glad that you managed to let go of some stuff to Goodwill, and pleased as punch that you had such a nice weekend in general. You deserve it.

Will you be anywhere near Tallahassee during Saturday? That’s the only time I think that our in-Florida-ness overlaps.

Kimmothy - July 20, 2009

Damn! No, my route doesn’t take me anywhere near Tally – I go down I-75 all the way to Tampa then backtrack about an hour north of there. That would’ve been cool if we could’ve met up! Warning: the clothes you didn’t get use out of in NY? BRING TO FLORIDA OR PREPARE TO MELT.

crisitunity - July 21, 2009

Oh yes, I’m packing light clothes. I looked at the weather for the week and was like “Oh-kay, so, nudity?” Too bad we can’t meet up.

4. iamheatherjo - July 20, 2009

I’d probably be the type to get pissy if I made a bad shot if I ever started to take the game seriously! 😀

I’m so happy that you’re weekend was kind to you. Just know there’s a whole mess of ’em in store in your future. I consulted the Magic 8 Ball, you know.

Kimmothy - July 21, 2009

I always get pissy when I play no matter how long it’s been since I’ve practiced. My dad was a pro; it should be in my dna.

iamheatherjo - July 21, 2009

I always thought the driving range looked like loads more fun. Maybe you can take me to one someday and laugh when the ball goes, like, 10 feet in front of me and dies a slow and whimpering death. 😀

5. LL Cool Joe - July 22, 2009

Sorry I’ve come late to this, I still have problems getting on your blog!

I’m so pleased the lunch went well and you had a good weekend. My partner is a keen golfer. 🙂

Nothing more frustrating than aging in-laws!


Leave a Reply

