jump to navigation

Lifestyles of the Poor and Bitter July 1, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Bloggie Blog, Home Life, Whatever.
trackback

I did some random blog reading yesterday, and I ran across something so irritating I just have to talk about it. Now don’t get me wrong; I love blogs for the same reason most people do – the voyeuristic peek into other peoples daily lives, people similar to me and those very different. It’s fun to compare and contrast, to say to myself “Ahh yes, me too,” or “Thank God I don’t have to deal with THAT,” or “Hmm, must be nice.” It’s a fun hobby. Sometimes though, it’s just…well, I don’t know. I don’t understand what motivates people on things they choose to share sometimes.

This particular blog I haven’t read before, but it was attractive looking and seemed well-written, so I was quickly sucked in. I read a few posts that indicated to me the woman was cute, funny, a little sarcastic like I like and she seemed to have a good blogger-to-reader relationship. Then I got to this one post. I won’t give away the title, you know, just in case, but the gist of it was that she was talking about what a totally Yuppie day she’d had. Okay, cool – as a proud Child of the 80’s and Gen X’er, I always enjoy a good social label. But then she went on to describe her day in terms of driving her BMW while dressed in J. Crew to run errands like picking up her $150 worth of dry cleaning and shopping at Whole Foods and stopping for a quick Starbucks and later attending a bachelorette party at Nobu with all of her similarly dressed girlfriends and so on. And so on. I kept waiting for a witty qualifier or a funny disclaimer, maybe some humbleness, because for sure this woman couldn’t just be writing a post that was completely and un-ironically made up of name brands that appear to define her very existence. Right?

Wrong.

And okay, so I did the very easy thing you do in those situations and clicked off of her page. She will never know the difference or care that someone like me will never read her blog again. But I’m still thinking about it today, so it obviously bugged me. You could be thinking, “Oh, Kim, you’re obviously jealous. And still very bitter about the fact you’ve wanted a 325i since you were a junior in high school, yet still aren’t driving one twenty years later.” Well, in some way I may agree with you. On the other hand, should I ever have the kind of cash where it wouldn’t matter where or how often I flung it around? I highly doubt you’d ever read a post from me where I detailed out the decadent and frivolous label whoring minutae of my day.

Unless, maybe I missed something. Maybe I too should be writing like that?
Well, okay. We’ll take yesterday, for example.

“A Totally Slacker Day”


Exhausted from helping my husband work a second job until almost 3am the night berfore, I simply couldn’t imagine getting up after only three hours’ sleep to go to my state job today. I was able to sleep in until almost 9:30, when the husband stopped back home to grab a Kellogg’s PopTart and his lunch, which he’d forgotten earlier. We may not be able to eat lunch out every day like some people, but he is so proud of the jazzy electric blue Dollar General lunch box I’d found for him a few weeks ago!

Still groggy, I made my way into the kitchen and brewed up some Maxwell House using my less-than-two-year-old Mr. Coffee 12-cup coffee maker. The coffee and a brisk shower with my favorite Go Fresh Grapefruit/Lemongrass Dove body wash and Venus razor, and I felt like a new woman. I decided to take advantage of the free time to run some errands. Those included returning library books, paying the electric and cable bills and stopping at Walmart to pick up a prescription and a Hanes sports bra. Oops – I almost forgot to mention I was wearing cut-off Levi shorts and a Hanes t-shirt for all this! Haha, I am such a Hanes brand loyalist – somebody stop me; I’m so bad! You will separate me from my Hanes Her Way underwear when you pry them off my cold dead body, you guys!

While I was at Walmart I thought about getting an oil change for my 2001 Saturn SC1, but then I just couldn’t be bothered. There’s really no sense in doing that until I’m prepared to pay for a tune-up and various other repairs along with it, and really, who has that kind of time. Instead, I went back home and got a jump on the man’s huge pile of work clothes, using my Gain Cotton Fresh detergent – my absolute favorite! That was so fun, I decided to change the bedding and make last night Clean Sheet Night, always the highlight of the month week, and even sprayed the bedroom with Glade Clean Linen spray – I know I’m spoiled, but I just sleep so much better when things don’t smell like sweaty monkey ass.

I am so retarded.

But I feel so much better all of a sudden.

Comments»

1. crisitunity - July 1, 2009

EW EW EW EW EW PLEASE STOP TALKING LIKE THAT.

Methinks I know the blog you mean.

Kimmothy - July 1, 2009

Oooh, dirty!
Send me an email – I’ll tell you if you’re right!

2. iamheatherjo - July 1, 2009

Well…I know it wasn’t my blog. Hahaha!!!

Now I really can’t wait to send the box I have for you…

Kimmothy - July 1, 2009

Uh-oh, you found me out!
Kidding, of course.
You are so naughty – sending me that BMW I’ve always wanted!

Ha, seriously, I forgot I had a Heather present coming; now I’m really excited again!

3. Laura - July 1, 2009

BWAAAAHAHAHAHAAA!!! Oh, man, you crack my shit up. I had (HAD) a couple of label-dropping friends, a few years ago, and that was one of the things that drove me the most nuts about them. I rock the Target and the Old Navy and the Chevy, baby!

Kimmothy - July 1, 2009

LONG LIVE THE TARGET!!!

4. Taoist Biker - July 2, 2009

Your car is two years newer than mine.

Bitch.

😀

Kimmothy - July 2, 2009

The funny part is by the time it’s paid off, all bets are off as to whether it’ll still run! That’s always fun to ponder.

5. Swistle - July 2, 2009

Hee!

Kimmothy - July 2, 2009

I know, I’m stupid.

6. Whiskeymarie - July 2, 2009

I’m torn when I read blogs like that. On one hand, I think, “Good for you! You have a job and a good life- that’s great! Enjoy it!”

But…on the other hand, when I read blogs about people who have been looking for a job for months or a year or more, and they aren’t sure how to pay their mortgage, let alone get groceries, I think, “How obnoxious, arrogant, and gross of you to be like this when so many others are suffering. Yes, you can be happy and yes, you can have money and things, but bragging and blatant materialism like this just makes you look like a terrible, clueless person. Have some basic human decency, dammit!! Keep it to your damn self, you obnoxious turd.”
This is coming off just reading a post from someone I know bragging about all sorts of things, most of them material. Ugh.

Gotta go- I have a post to write about my new diamond-encrusted poop scoop for my cats, and then I’m off for my vacation at a private island only the wealthy know about where we feast on endangered animals and the sweat of poor people. Bye!

Kimmothy - July 3, 2009

As usual, you put it so much better than I could have ever done.
That last paragraph made me fart with glee.


Leave a Reply

