jump to navigation

Hateful Solstice June 22, 2009

Posted by Kimmothy in Fam Damily, Friends, Home Life, The Man, Weather, Work.
trackback

The past few years Father’s Day has been a pretty sucky day for me for obvious reasons. While I’m thankful Brian has both a great dad and stepdad, I can’t help but feel sad to pick out cards and celebrate just for them. Shortly after my dad passed away, one of my friends tearfully said to me “He was more of a dad to you in the shortened time you had him than many people get for a lifetime.” And I know that’s true and I’m still grateful for that. It doesn’t make me miss him any less.

Luckily yesterday was so busy and long and hot and enough of an asspain, I didn’t have time to be too sad. After lunch with his parents, we headed over to clean up the last of the old Redneck homestead. I’m not exaggerating when I say I spent 45 minutes alone scraping hardened, caked-on mud off of one of the front windows of the house. Yes, it was a mistake that it was there to begin with – muddy driveway, plus trying to get out of said drive-way equals spraying mud everywhere – but it happened over six months ago. I’m by no means Martha Stewart, but I don’t think I could’ve left that there for that long. Especially since it was their daughter’s bedroom window – the only neat and decorated room in the whole house. We spent four hours there, but now it’s over and time to get paid, so yippie for that.

And it looks like the rest of the month is going to continue to be a little ridiculous. Tonight Brian is starting a big tile job that he has one week to finish. His best friend is helping him, so at least he’ll enjoy the company, but they both have day jobs so will only be able to work on it at night. Believe me, I am praising Jebus for the extra income, but, and I know this is going to sound very sappy, nighttime is our time together and I look forward to it every day. We have a good time hanging out together and I miss it when things get busy like this. What will probably end up happening is me going over there with him a couple of nights and just hanging out with a book or being their tile apprentice. That’s my prediction, anyway.

I haven’t bitched about this for awhile, but I have to say it: THE HEAT. We’ve been having late July/early August weather lately and it never ceases to make my whiny. And I don’t expect any sympathy from Brian, who works in it every day (weirdo), but it seriously sucks. When I pass by my trusty bank thermometer at 7:45am and it already reads 83, I know it’s going to be another doozy. It’s starting to get to him as well, which how could it not. It’s too early to start counting down to Fall, especially since yesterday was the first official day of Summer, but a little break would be nice. The good news is I bought a couple of Tap Lights, so the next time the power goes out (my prediction: sometime this week), we’ll have better light to play poker by.

It’s pretty bad when I’m looking forward to my Florida trip so I can be in COOLER weather.

Sheesh.

Comments»

1. iamheatherjo - June 22, 2009

I still buy my Mom flowers for Mother’s Day. I put them on the table in the kitchen and think of her whenever I look at them and will always wish she was still here. As unrealistic as that is…

Wish I could give you a great big hug.

Kimmothy - June 23, 2009

I have to refrain from talking to my mom on this and several other holidays; nothing good ever comes of it.

2. crisitunity - June 22, 2009

Any rain on the way?

Kimmothy - June 23, 2009

I look at the forcast every morning and I don’t see any for this week at all.

3. iamheatherjo - June 23, 2009

I meant you could buy your Dad flowers for Father’s Day and keep them in your house for him. 🙂

Kimmothy - June 23, 2009

Ah! Automatically when I see the word “Mom” I sometimes lose my mind!

4. Laura - June 26, 2009

1. It’s not sappy that you look forward to your time with your husband at night! Calvin had to work late last night, too, and I was STUPID happy when he finally walked in the door at about 8:30. We may be saps, but we’re LOVEABLE saps.

2. Heat? You don’t know NUTHIN’ about heat. 😛

3. I’m sorry that Father’s Day is a sad time for you. I’ve never had cause to celebrate it myself (except on Calvin’s behalf). I was bothered by that for a few years in my 20’s when I thought, “Hey, it might be nice to actually, you know, be in contact with my father.” But my sister and uncle revealed to me how much of a bad idea that would be. You have lovely memories to look back on, which I know is a great comfort for you. Not the same as him being here with you still, though. Hugs.

Kimmothy - June 27, 2009

I’m scared of your heat.


Leave a Reply

